Developing Student Understanding of Complex Systems in the Geosciences »

Systems Thinking

Friday, June 26, 2015

Time: 9:00 am PST | 10:00 am MST | 11:00 am CST | 12:00 pm EST

Duration: 1.5 hours with extra time for questions
Platform: Online web presentation and discussion via phone and Adobe Connect web conference software with questions and answers following. See Technology Instructions to connect.


Goals

At the end of this webinar, participants will be able to...

  • Identify specific interactions in a complex system
  • Plan for incorporating systems thinking into InTeGrate materials

Program

  • Quick Introductions of Presenters - 2 minutes
  • Overview of Webinar and Goals - 3 minutes
  • Part 1: Guided exploration of a complex system - 25 minutes
    • Student hat: mini lesson
    • Teacher hat: debrief of mini lesson
  • Part 2: Breakout session small group work - 30 minutes
    • Work on defining and planning to teach a system (20 minutes)
    • Share out and wrap-up (10 minutes)
  • Part 3: Resources and next steps - 30 minutes
    • Resources (10 minutes)
    • Final Q & A (20 minutes)
  • Wrap up and final thoughts - 5 minutes

Screencast:

Watch the Webinar Screencast.


Slides:

Systems Thinking Webinar Presentation Slides (PowerPoint 2007 (.pptx) 10.4MB Jun26 15)

Resources

The On Cutting Edge site on complex systems and InTeGrate's pages on teaching systems thinking are two excellent general references and there are lots of links within these pages to explore for further information and ideas for classroom activities. For some other resources, see: