SAGE 2YC > Workshops > Cohort 2 Workshop 2018 > Program

Workshop Program

Pre-workshop asynchronous work:

By Friday, June 22, please upload the Powerpoint of your program course-level outcomes measures and connections to your program and program action plan (see Presentation instructions and example (PowerPoint 2007 (.pptx) 110kB Jun10 18) file).

Detailed information on the program is in the participant workspace. Login required.)

Tuesday, June 26

9 AM - 1 PM PDT | 10 AM - 2 PM MDT | 11 AM - 3 PM CDT | 12 - 4 PM EDT

Course-level outcomes measures and implications for your program - Heather Macdonald, Eric Baer, and Debra Bragg

Introduction to the workshop (PowerPoint 2007 (.pptx) 289kB Jun26 18)

9:10 AM PDT/11:10 AM CDT/12:10 PM EDT Program reports and discussion

Each program will have ~20-25 minutes in which they will give a short report on their course-level outcomes measures including implications for their program's needs, goals, and strategies. Other participants will respond with questions, suggestions, and other feedback.

(Note that times are approximate)
Chemeketa Program Presentation 9:10 PDT/11:10 CDT/12:10 EDT
Linn-Benton Program ~9:35 PDT/11:35 CDT/12:35 EDT
Delta Program ~10 PDT/Noon CDT/1 EDT

Break ~10:25 PDT/12:25 CDT/1:25 EDT

Bellevue Program ~10:35 PDT/12:35 CDT/1:35 EDT
Mount San Antonio Program ~11 PDT/1 CDT/2 EDT

Break ~11:25 PDT/1:25 CDT/2:25 EDT

D.C. Metro Program ~11:35 PDT/1:35 CDT/2:35 EDT
Cape Cod Program Noon PDT/2 CDT/3 EDT


Wrap-up: virtual activities, asynchronous work description, questions, and daily roadcheck 12:25 PDT/2:25 CDT/3:25 EDT

Asynchronous work (~ one hour of work as a team)

  • Respond via the discussion thread: Based on the results of the discussion of your course-level outcomes data and your program, what insights, if any, did you gain and what changes, if any, will you make regarding your program and/or action plan?
  • By the end of the week, complete the team and individual progress report.

Wednesday, June 27

9 - 11:30 AM PDT | 10 - 12:30 PM MDT | 11 AM - 1:30 PM CDT | 12 - 2:30 PM EDT

Working with your colleagues and administrators: Strategies for leading change - Pamela Eddy

Working with your colleagues and administrators: Strategies for leading change

This session will address how to lead change based on your own leadership perspectives and what type of change is required at your college. A range of case study scenarios will be employed to help you test drive and practice how you can effect change on your campus and lead others. Resistance to change is often strong, thus we'll also look at strategies to break through the types of barriers that often stop change initiatives.

Social network analysis


Wrap-up, questions, and daily roadcheck

Thursday, June 28

9 AM - 12 PM PDT | 10 AM - 1 PM MDT | 11 AM - 2 PM CDT | 12 - 3 PM EDT

Engaging your regional community and designing your regional workshop I - Carol Ormand and John McDaris

These two days will focus on engaging your regional community of other 2YC geoscience educators and designing the regional workshop your team will offer in fall 2018 or winter 2019. What are ways to engage your 2YC geoscience colleagues in your region, both full-time and adjunct? How does one plan and lead an effective professional development workshop? SAGE 2YC has many resources to support you in the design of the workshops as a whole as well as the design of specific sessions. You will leave the workshop having made progress on your regional workshop plans and webpages.

Wrap-up, questions, and daily roadcheck

Asynchronous work on Thursday, after Thursday's workshop (~ 10-15 minutes of individual work)

  • Respond via the discussion thread in preparation for the next part of the workshop: Reflecting on workshops you have attended, what are some of the practices that have worked well for you? What are things that haven't worked for you?

Friday, June 29

9 AM - 12 PM PDT | 10 AM - 1 PM MDT | 11 AM - 2 PM CDT | 12 - 3 PM EDT

Engaging your regional community and designing your regional workshop II - Carol Ormand and John McDaris

Wrap-up and end-of-workshop evaluation and reflection form