2021 Technical Program At-A-Glance

It appears you are using a smaller screen. You may prefer using the program search on your current device.
Search the Program »

The morning workshop program is open for registration on a first come, first serve basis. Afternoon mini workshops are open to all participants registered for that day (not reserved ahead of time). The contributed program is open to all participants regardless of registered days.

Receive Updates » Contributed Program » Search the Program » Browse Themes »


Monday
7/12
Tuesday
7/13
Wednesday
7/14
Thursday
7/15
Friday
7/16
Morning

8am-11am PT

9am-12pm MT

10am-1pm CT

11am-2pm ET
WORKSHOP
Preparing for an Academic Career
WORKSHOP
Student Mental Health and Well-Being
WORKSHOP
Vision and Change in the Geosciences: Preparing for the Future of Geoscience Education
WORKSHOP
Engaging Your Students with Visual Representations: Why, What, and How
WORKSHOP
From the Emerald Isle to the Red Planet: How to Make your Virtual Field Trip out of this World
WORKSHOP
Storytelling for Change in the Geosciences
WORKSHOP
Developing Strategies for Inclusive Teaching Practices
WORKSHOP
Geoscience Education Research: Statistics in Geosciences
WORKSHOP
Preparing for Student Creation of Virtual Contexts for Exploring Geoscience Environments
WORKSHOP
Teaching and Learning About Feedback Loops
RETREAT
Writing Retreat
WORKSHOP
Designing and Facilitating High Quality Online Earth Science Courses

WORKSHOP
Adapting Lessons for Your Classroom

Mid-day

11am-12pm PT

12pm-1pm MT

1pm-2pm CT

2pm-3pm ET
CONTRIBUTED PROGRAM
SHARE-A-THON

11:15-11:45am PT
12:15-12:45pm MT
1:15-1:45pm CT
2:15-2:45pm ET


There is a 15-minute break before and after the share-a-thon.


Submit a proposal »
BREAK


CONTRIBUTED PROGRAM
POSTERS

11:15am-11:45am PT
12:15pm-12:45pm MT
1:15pm-1:45pm CT
2:15pm-2:45pm ET


There is a 15-minute break before and after the posters.


Submit an abstract »
BREAK


CONTRIBUTED PROGRAM
POSTERS

11:15am-11:45am PT
12:15pm-12:45pm MT
1:15pm-1:45pm CT
2:15pm-2:45pm ET


There is a 15-minute break before and after the posters.


Submit an abstract »
Afternoon

Beginning at

12pm PT

1pm MT

2pm CT

3pm ET
MINI WORKSHOPS

12-2:30pm PT
1-3:30pm MT
2-4:30pm CT
3-5:30pm ET

All mini-workshops run concurrently for 2.5 hours. See list below for options.
PLENARY

12-1pm PT
1-2pm MT
2-3pm CT
3-4pm ET


Speaker to be announced
CONTRIBUTED PROGRAM
ORAL SESSIONS AND TEACHING DEMOS

12-2:30pm PT
1-3:30pm MT
2-4:30pm CT
3-5:30pm ET


See concurrent sessions below.

PLENARY

12-1pm PT
1-2pm MT
2-3pm CT
3-4pm ET


Speaker to be announced

ROUNDTABLES

12-1:45pm PT
1-2:45pm MT
2-3:45pm CT
3-4:45pm ET

All roundtables run concurrently. They are organized into two 45-minute sessions, with a 15-minute break in the middle as an opportunity to switch sessions. See list below for options.

MINI WORKSHOP
How Can We Teach Atmospheric Dynamics Better?

MINI WORKSHOP
Planetary Science Education: Thoughts, Approaches, and Examples for Teaching Planetary Science and Integrating Students into the Research Process


MINI WORKSHOP
Purposefully Examining Student Work for Instructional Decision-Making


MINI WORKSHOP
Engaging students in Earth's systems thinking with model-based inquiry


MINI WORKSHOP
IDEAS: a Novel Approach to Promoting Success for Underrepresented Minorities in the Geosciences


MINI WORKSHOP
Integrating Affective Domain Mini Lessons into Introductory Geology Classes


MINI WORKSHOP
Making Science News Work for You: Incorporating Eos into Your Classroom

ROUNDTABLES

1:15-2:00pm PT
2:15-3:00pm MT
3:15-4:00pm CT
4:15-5:00pm ET

All Tuesday roundtables run concurrently. See list below for options.


Creating a Positive Classroom Climate


Managing Stress in Graduate School


Rethinking Course Assessment—Measuring Development of Expertise


Instructor and Student Toolkit for Movement and Safety in the Field

ORAL SESSIONS

Oral sessions will be listed here following the abstract submission deadline.


Submit an abstract »

TEACHING DEMOS

Teaching demo sessions will be listed here following the abstract submission deadline.


Submit a teaching demo »
MINI WORKSHOPS

1:15-3:45pm PT
2:15-4:45pm MT
3:15-5:45pm CT
4:15-6:45pm ET

All mini-workshops run concurrently and run for 2.5 hrs, unless otherwise noted. See list below for options.

MINI WORKSHOP
Geoscience is Elementary


MINI WORKSHOP
OOI Data Labs - Online Laboratory Manual for Introductory Oceanography Courses


MINI WORKSHOP
Teaching the Anthropocene


MINI WORKSHOP
Climate Interactive En-Roads


MINI WORKSHOP
Using Geophysics to Address Societally-Relevant, Urban and Environmental Questions in Introductory-Level Geoscience Courses


MINI WORKSHOP
Facilitating Student Exploration of Local Environmental Challenges via Mathematics and Computational Thinking


MINI WORKSHOP
Curiosity to Question: A New Model for Disciplinarily Diverse and Inclusive Course-Based Research Experiences


MINI WORKSHOP
Getting Started in Assessment Research

Ball-bearing Chromatography


Teaching Real Science in Physical and Digital Classrooms


Beyond Content: Roles of Geoscientists in Preparing Pre-Service Earth Science Teachers


Building Online Textbooks Using LibreTexts


NAGT Advocacy Committee - What We Do and How You Can Join


Community-Driven Field Geology Online


Teaching Water Conservation with the Water Footprint Calculator

Evening EVENING ACTIVITY

Evening Programming (TBD)

EVENING ACTIVITY
Featured Stories in Diversity

2:15-3:45pm PT
3:15-4:45pm MT
4:15-5:45pm CT
5:15-6:45pm ET

More details coming soon

EVENING ACTIVITY

Evening Programming (TBD)

EVENING ACTIVITY

Evening Programming (TBD)

EVENING ACTIVITY

Evening Programming (TBD)



      Next Page »