2020 Technical Program At-A-Glance

It appears you are using a smaller screen. You may prefer using the program search on your current device.
Search the Program »

The morning workshop program is open for registration on a first come, first serve basis (workshop size is limited based on room capacity). Afternoon mini workshops are open to all participants registered for that day (not reserved ahead of time).

Abstracts that were submitted earlier this year are currently being assigned to sessions. We will post links to the contributed program sessions as soon as they are available.

Once the program is finalized, we will make a file that enables you to download the program listing by day as a PDF.

Receive Updates » Contributed Program »


Monday
7/13
Tuesday
7/14
Wednesday
7/15
Thursday
7/16
Friday
7/17
8-11am PT

9am-12pm MT

10am-1pm CT

11am-2pm ET

WORKSHOP
Preparing for an Academic Career

WORKSHOP
Course Design: Using effective lesson design strategies to enhance the use of active learning
WORKSHOP
Creating Inquiry-based Labs for Introductory Geology Courses
WORKSHOP
Science Communication
WORKSHOP
Teaching your upper-level course online: A Community Collaboration to build robust online Geoscience courses

WORKSHOP
Art and Field Sketching
WORKSHOP
The Whys and Hows of Implementing Virtual and Augmented Reality in Earth Science Classrooms
WORKSHOP
Teaching for a Changing World: Water resources and melting ice

RETREAT
Writing Retreat



BREAK: 11am-12pm PT // 12pm-1pm MT // 1pm-2pm CT // 2pm-3pm ET

Beginning at

12pm PT

1pm MT

2pm CT

3pm ET
MINI WORKSHOPS

(12-2:30pm PT / 1-3:30pm MT / 2-4:30pm CT / 3-5:30pm ET)


All mini-workshops run concurrently and run for 2.5 hrs, unless otherwise noted. See list below for options.
PLENARY

(12-1pm PT / 1-2pm MT / 2-3pm CT / 3-4pm ET)

Karletta Chief, Asst. Professor and Extension Specialist, Dept of Soil, Water, and Environmental Sciences, University of Arizona, Tucson
CONTRIBUTED PROGRAM

(12-2:30pm PT / 1-3:30pm MT / 2-4:30pm CT / 3-5:30pm ET)


See concurrent sessions below.

Abstracts will be posted soon.

PLENARY

(12-1pm PT / 1-2pm MT / 2-3pm CT / 3-4pm ET)

Carl Wieman, Professor of Physics and of the Graduate School of Education

ROUNDTABLES

(12-1:45pm PT / 1-2:45pm MT / 2-3:45pm CT / 3-4:45pm ET)


All roundtables run concurrently. They are organized to run 45min, with a 15 minute break in the middle as an opportunity to switch sessions, unless otherwise noted. See list below for options.

MINI WORKSHOP
Best Practices for Dual Enrollment Programs

MINI WORKSHOP
Getting Started in Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SOTL)


MINI WORKSHOPNavigating and Contributing to Teach the Earth


MINI WORKSHOP
Imposter Syndrome


MINI WORKSHOP
Strategies for Incorporating Sustainability Throughout your Earth Science Course


MINI WORKSHOP
The Water-Literate Citizen: Help Develop a New Framework Document for Water Literacy
ROUNDTABLES

(1:30-3:15pm PT / 2:30-4:15pm MT / 3:30-5:15pm CT / 4:30-6:15pm ET)

All roundtables run concurrently. They are organized to run 45min, with a 15 minute break in the middle as an opportunity to switch sessions, unless otherwise noted. See list below for options.


Implicit Bias


Place-Based Teaching


Handling Grad School Stress


Gaining Teaching Experience beyond the Lab for Grad Students and Post-docs


Active Learning in Large Classes


Time Management and Setting Boundaries

Oral Session I


Oral Session II


Oral Session III


Oral Session IV


Teaching Demos / Share-a-thon


Posters

MINI WORKSHOPS

(1:30-4pm PT / 2:30-5pm MT / 3:30-6pm CT / 4:30-7pm ET)

All mini-workshops run concurrently and run for 2.5 hrs, unless otherwise noted. See list below for options.

MINI WORKSHOPDesigning and Running Effective Workshops


MINI WORKSHOP Applying ICAP Theory of Cognitive Engagement to Active Geoscience Learning
MINI WORKSHOP Facilitating Student Centered Community Action Projects
MINI WORKSHOPBroadening participation in the geosciences through undergraduate on-ramps: Lessons learned in the SAGE 2YC Project
MINI WORKSHOP
Theories of Change and Logic Models
(Note: This mini-workshop will run for 2 hrs)


MINI WORKSHOPEos in the Classroom: Building Educational Resources with Science News

Taking a Two-Worlds Approach to Address Grand Challenges in Creating a Sustainable Future


Developing a Geo-STEM Learning Ecosystem


Teaching Oceanography

Preparing for Tenure and Promotion


Transition to Teaching Online


Effective Assessments: Maximizing Integrity, Minimizing Grading Time
Evening EVENING ACTIVITY

Optional Evening Programming (TBD)

EVENING ACTIVITY

Optional Evening Programming (TBD)

EVENING ACTIVITY

Optional Evening Programming (TBD)

EVENING ACTIVITY

Optional Evening Programming (TBD)

EVENING ACTIVITY

Optional Evening Programming (TBD)



      Next Page »