Implicit Bias

Tuesday 1:30-3:15pm PT / 2:30-4:15pm MT / 3:30-5:15pm CT / 4:30-6:15pm ET Online
Round Table Discussion

Leader

Catherine Riihimaki, Princeton University
Implicit bias describes when we have attitudes towards people or associate stereotypes with them without our conscious knowledge. Cognitive science research shows that everyone has implicit biases, sometimes in surprising ways, and that these biases affect how we understand situations, make decisions, and behave. This round-table discussion will focus on how to recognize different forms of implicit bias and how to address the ways that these biases manifest themselves in our teaching and other professional responsibilities.