Place-Based Geoscience Teaching

Tuesday 1:30-3:15pm PT / 2:30-4:15pm MT / 3:30-5:15pm CT / 4:30-6:15pm ET Online
Round Table Discussion

Leaders

Steven Semken, Arizona State University at the Tempe Campus
Emily Geraghty Ward, Rocky Mountain College

Place-based geoscience teaching leverages our students' intellectual and emotional connections to the places we use in teaching, to foster more relevant and inclusive learning. If you are interested in place-based geoscience education but have little or no prior experience with it, please join this roundtable for a brief introduction to, and a few illustrative examples of, place-based curriculum and instruction; followed by informal conversation and sharing of ideas to help participants teach in more place-based ways.

All roundtable discussions will take place online, via Zoom (see below).

Session Connection Info

This session has already taken place.

Resources

Place-Based Education in Geoscience: Theory, Research, Practice, and Assessment—Semken, S., Ward, E. G., Moosavi, S., & Chinn, P. (2017). Journal of Geoscience Education, 65 , 542-562.

The Design of Place-Based, Culturally Informed Geoscience Assessment—Ward, E. G., Semken, S., & Libarkin, J. C. (2014). Journal of Geoscience Education, 62, 86-103.

Teaching Geoscience in the Context of Culture and Place—Apple, J., Lemus, J., & Semken, S. (2014). Journal of Geoscience Education, 62, 1-4.

Themed Issue (1/2) on Teaching Geoscience in the Context of Culture and PlaceJournal of Geoscience Education, 62, number 1.

Themed Issue (2/2) on Teaching Geoscience in the Context of Culture and PlaceJournal of Geoscience Education, 62, number 2.

Sense of Place and Place-Based Introductory Geoscience Teaching for American Indian and Alaska Native Undergraduates—Semken, S. (2005). Journal of Geoscience Education, 53, 149-157.