SAGE 2YC > Workshops > The Spectrum of Student Research in Geoscience at 2YCs

The Spectrum of Student Research in Geoscience at 2YCs: Some Examples

Friday, October 24, 2014
3-4 PM Eastern | 2-3 PM Central | 1-2 PM Mountain | 12-1 PM Pacific
This event has already happened. See below for materials from this webinar.

Conveners: Jan Hodder (University of Oregon), Eric Baer (Highline College) and Heather Macdonald (College of William and Mary)
Presenters: Allison Beauregard (Northwest Florida State College), Peter Berquist (Thomas Nelson Community College), Mark Boryta (Mt. San Antonio College), Laura Guertin (Penn State University - Brandywine), Lynsey LeMay (Thomas Nelson Community College), and Joshua Villalobos (El Paso Community College)


Webinar Description

Conducting student research at two-year colleges can be challenging and rewarding. This webinar will include examples of the range of ways 2YC faculty provide their students with research experiences, including research done as part of a regular course, research built around a particular question (e.g., community need or local issue), a course on undergraduate research, and independent study research. Other examples include supporting students in internships and research experiences at other institutions. This webinar provides an opportunity to learn how faculty at two-year colleges are providing research opportunities for their students and the associated benefits, challenges, and solutions. During the webinar, we will have time for discussion and questions. We hope you will join us!

Webinar Materials
Screencast of SAGE 2YC Webinar: The Spectrum of Student Research in Geoscience at 2YCs: Some Examples October 31, 2014 John McDaris, Carleton College Download SAGE 2YC Webinar 103114 (MP4 Video 621.9MB) Details

Watch the Screencast of the webinar.

Presenter Slides: