Santiago Canyon College Change Agent Team

Angela Daneshmand, Earth Science
Cynthia Swift, Physics

Team Activities

Team Members

Angela Daneshmand

Angela is in her first year of the tenure process at Santiago Canyon College. She is very passionate about outreach and regularly attends K-12 science nights to incite a love for science in future generations. Her current pursuits include incorporating gaming into education and creating new engaging activities to increase student interest and retention in the Earth Sciences.


Angela teaches Physical Geology (lecture and lab), Earth Science (lecture and lab), Oceanography, Environmental Geology, Natural Hazards, Earth Science for Educators, and Earth Science Communication.

Cynthia (Cindy) Swift

Cindy has been teaching since 1994. She started her career at the high school level, teaching advanced placement physics, physics, and chemistry. In 2006, she began teaching college full-time at SCC and since then has taught physical science, conceptual physics, calculus-based physics, and algebra-based physics. She is always willing to try new things to help her students be successful.


Cindy teaches both the lecture and lab parts of Physics for Scientists and Engineers I, and Introductory Physics I and II.


Santiago Canyon College serves over 15,000 students per year from its campus in Orange County, California. With Santa Ana College, SCC is part of the Rancho Santiago Community College District. Thirty-five percent of the students are over 25. Over half of the students are Hispanic/Latino and 68 percent of students are men.


The Earth Science and Physics departments are each self-contained departments within the Division of Mathematics and Sciences. Within the two departments, courses are taught in Engineering, Environmental Policy/Studies, Geology, Oceanography, Physics, Statics, Dynamics, and Physical Science. Although at some colleges astronomy is paired up with either Earth Science or Physics, at SCC it is its own self-contained department. There are are two full-time faculty and four adjunct faculty teaching courses in the Physics Department. Earth Science has one full-time faculty and two adjunct faculty.

Students in the physics courses include engineering, chemistry, computer science, physics, and geology majors. They take one, two, or three sequential physics courses for science majors. About 60 life-science-related majors take a separate two-course sequence each year. Students who take Conceptual Physics or Physical science are typically non-science majors needing to fulfill a general education requirement.

In Earth Science, most students are non-majors taking courses for general education requirements; 400 students per year take introductory-level geology/earth science and 180 take an introductory geology lab. There are ~5-10 geoscience majors at any given time;

Institutional demographic data is from IPEDS the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System, U.S. Department of Education, typically for the 2018-19 year as available.