Theme: Course Resources

The programming listed below seeks to address the topic of Course Resources.

The Whys and Hows of Implementing Virtual and Augmented Reality in Earth Science Classrooms WORKSHOP
Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday 8-11am PT / 9am-12pm MT / 10am-1pm CT / 11am-2pm ET Online

Stephen Moysey, East Carolina University
Ben Maas, Buena Vista University
Kelly Lazar, Clemson University
Alexander Klippel, Pennsylvania State University-Main Campus
Natalie Bursztyn, Quest University

Show Abstract »

Regardless of whether they are in a classroom or online, do you want to take your students on a field trip, help them to visualize spatial relationships, learn how to use the tools of the trade, or relate ...
Creating Inquiry-Based Labs for Introductory Geology Courses WORKSHOP
Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday 8-11am PT / 9am-12pm MT / 10am-1pm CT / 11am-2pm ET Online

Kelsey Bitting, Elon University
Katherine Ryker, University of South Carolina-Columbia
Rachel Teasdale, California State University-Chico

Show Abstract »

Inquiry based laboratory activities in undergraduate introductory geoscience courses are important opportunities to engage students in face-to-face and online environments. Often, laboratory activities are ...
Strategies for Incorporating Sustainability Throughout your Earth Science Course AFTERNOON MINI WORKSHOP
Monday 12-2:30pm PT / 1-3:30pm MT / 2-4:30pm CT / 3-5:30pm ET Online

Christopher Berg, Orange Coast College

Show Abstract »

So you've heard about some of the new data-rich, sustainability-focused activities in teaching collections like InTeGrate, but you're not sure how to successfully adapt your course to incorporate them (or ...
Navigating and Contributing to Teach the Earth AFTERNOON MINI WORKSHOP
Monday 12-2:30pm PT / 1-3:30pm MT / 2-4:30pm CT / 3-5:30pm ET Online

Jennifer Wenner, University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh
Kyle Fredrick, California University of Pennsylvania

Show Abstract »

Have you developed an activity that you're especially proud of and think others might benefit from? Have you ever visited the Teach the Earth portal (sometimes known as SERC) and felt overwhelmed by the volume ...
Re-Making Models SHARE-A-THON
Wednesday Online

Gary Glesener, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State Univ

Show Abstract »

A physical model can be a helpful resource in the science classroom. In the past, many physical models were made from building materials, such as wood and metal, and educators would share their designs in textbooks ...
Communicating Beyond Visuals: Materials to Support Blind and Visually-Impaired Students in an Introductory Geology Course SHARE-A-THON
Wednesday Online

Annie Klyce, University of South Carolina-Columbia
Katherine Ryker, University of South Carolina-Columbia

Show Abstract »

An introductory geology course can be daunting to students even with full use of their eyes, but students who are blind or visually-impaired experience a new world of challenges. Common, visual-based tasks include ...
Taphonomy: Dead and Fossilized SHARE-A-THON
Wednesday Online

Enrique Reyes, Akins High School
Rowan Martindale, The University of Texas at Austin
Estefania Salgado-Jauregui, The University of Texas at Austin

Show Abstract »

"Taphonomy: Dead and Fossilized" is a unique board game experience that aims to teach the concepts of Taphonomy, the process of fossilization and preservation biases, through gameplay. Students will ...
Data and Diagrams SHARE-A-THON
Wednesday Online

Jessica Smay, San Jose City College
Karen Kortz, Community College of Rhode Island

Show Abstract »

Data and Diagrams is a set of diagrams that actively guide students on how to read scientific diagrams. Their objective is to help students in introductory geology courses approach diagrams as scientists do. The ...
Tracking your Plastic Footprint SHARE-A-THON
Wednesday Online

Ben Maas, Buena Vista University
Katie Farnsworth, Indiana University of Pennsylvania-Main Campus

Show Abstract »

In this homework assignment, students are asked to track their plastic usage over one week by using an Excel spreadsheet (provided) and by making a 'plastic diary. A Google Sheets version of the spreadsheet is ...
Dino Doom SHARE-A-THON
Wednesday Online

Diane Ripollone, Cardinal Gibbons High School
Wendy Abshire, American Meteorological Society

Show Abstract »

The Cretaceous–Paleogene (K–Pg) extinction event, which occurred 66 mya, caused the mass extinction of nearly 75% of the plant and animal species on Earth. This event is marked by a thin layer of sediment which ...
Strategies for engaging with Teach the Earth online resources POSTER SESSION
Wednesday 12-2:30pm PT / 1-3:30pm MT / 2-4:30pm CT / 3-5:30pm ET Online

Jennifer Wenner, University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh
Sean Fox, Carleton College
Sarah Fortner, Wittenberg University
Phil Resor, Wesleyan University
Lisa White, University of California Museum of Paleontology
Missy Holzer, Chatham High School
Kyle Fredrick, California University of Pennsylvania
Bruce Mason, University of Oklahoma Norman Campus
Andrew Haveles, Carleton College

Show Abstract »

Have you been overwhelmed by the sheer number of resources on Teach the Earth? Have you wished for more guidance on how to navigate the Teach the Earth Portal? Would you like to contribute to the community of ...
National Ecological Observatory Network- A Data Source For Your Classroom POSTER SESSION
Wednesday 12-2:30pm PT / 1-3:30pm MT / 2-4:30pm CT / 3-5:30pm ET Online

Erin Crandall, National Ecological Observatory Network (NEON)
Kate Ludwig, National Ecological Observatory Network (NEON)
Byron Graves, National Ecological Observatory Network (NEON)
Megan Jones, National Ecological Observatory Network (NEON)

Show Abstract »

The National Ecological Observatory Network (NEON) is a continental-scale ecological observation facility sponsored by the National Science Foundation. NEON collects data at 81 sites across the United States and ...
So what does a degree in geology actually mean? A review of commonly required courses POSTER SESSION
Wednesday 12-2:30pm PT / 1-3:30pm MT / 2-4:30pm CT / 3-5:30pm ET Online

Annie Klyce, University of South Carolina-Columbia
Katherine Ryker, University of South Carolina-Columbia

Show Abstract »

Unlike other fields such as chemistry (ACS, 2019), engineering, physics (ABET, 2019) and biology (ASBMB, 2019), the geosciences have no greater accrediting body. In terms of the classes that are required, there is ...
3D-printed models: tools for teaching 3D visualization of subsurface geology POSTER SESSION
Wednesday 12-2:30pm PT / 1-3:30pm MT / 2-4:30pm CT / 3-5:30pm ET Online

Merilie Reynolds, University of Alberta
John W.F. Waldron, University of Alberta

Show Abstract »

Much of basic structural geology involves projecting data from maps of the Earth's largely two-dimensional (2D) surface into the opaque, three-dimensional (3D) subsurface. An important part of Earth science ...
Assessing the Efficacy of a Role-Playing Activity in a Post-Secondary Geoscience Course POSTER SESSION
Wednesday 12-2:30pm PT / 1-3:30pm MT / 2-4:30pm CT / 3-5:30pm ET Online

Jennifer Cuthbertson, University of Calgary
Claire Paton, University of Calgary

Show Abstract »

The Sleeping Mountain is a role-playing scenario in which students play the roles of townspeople, politicians, land developers, and geoscientists in a town hall debate about the risks from a nearby volcano that is ...
Fostering Undergraduate Students' Water Literacy: Discipline-Based Education Research in a Transdisciplinary Water Course POSTER SESSION
Wednesday 12-2:30pm PT / 1-3:30pm MT / 2-4:30pm CT / 3-5:30pm ET Online

Cory Forbes, University of Nebraska at Lincoln
Diane Lally, University of Nebraska at Lincoln
Destini Petitt, University of North Carolina at Charlotte
Trenton Franz, University of Nebraska at Lincoln

Show Abstract »

Societies today face an array of global, water-related challenges with significant scientific dimensions within the Food-Energy-Water-Nexus. To prepare students to become tomorrow's global citizens, ...
Using Case Studies to Investigate the Socioeconomic and Ethical Dimensions of Sustainability POSTER SESSION
Wednesday 12-2:30pm PT / 1-3:30pm MT / 2-4:30pm CT / 3-5:30pm ET Online

Ellen Metzger, San Jose State University
Randall Curren, University of Rochester

Show Abstract »

Challenges to sustainability arise from the interplay between interacting planetary and human systems and are inevitably embedded in social contexts. Addressing the complex, solution-resistant problems of ...
Evidence for Reformed Teaching in Undergraduate Geoscience Course Syllabi ORAL SESSION
Wednesday 12:05 PT / 1:05 MT / 2:05 CT / 3:05 ET Online

Katherine Ryker, University of South Carolina-Columbia
Karen Viskupic, Boise State University
Charles Czajka, Utah Valley State College
Rachel Teasdale, California State University-Chico

Show Abstract »

A syllabus introduces students to information about a course, is one of the first ways students and instructors interact, and sets the tone of the course. We reviewed course syllabi of instructors who we observed ...
Using Augmented Reality techniques to provide virtual reality field experiences for persons with disabilities and inner city students. TEACHING DEMONSTRATION
Wednesday 12:05 PT / 1:05 MT / 2:05 CT / 3:05 ET Online

William Hansen, Worcester State University
Nabin Malakar, Worcester State University
John Holbrook, Worcester State University

Show Abstract »

Geosciences and Ecology are STEM fields which present challenging issues to people with limited mobility. The material developed for this project allows a virtual field experience in landscape analysis and ecology ...
Websites for Teaching and Learning Identification of Minerals and Rocks in Introductory Physical Geology TEACHING DEMONSTRATION
Wednesday 12:18 PT / 1:18 MT / 2:18 CT / 3:18 ET Online

Scott Brande, University of Alabama at Birmingham

Show Abstract »

An abundance of digital media that exhibit minerals and rocks are available online. However, most of these media have not been designed and produced for typical laboratory-based learning activities and objectives ...
Utilizing Android Phones for NASA Relative Measurements TEACHING DEMONSTRATION
Wednesday 12:31 PT / 1:31 MT / 2:31 CT / 3:31 ET Online

CONSTANCE MEADORS, University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff
Katina White, Forest Heights STEM Academy
Dr. Marico Bryant-Howe, University of Arkansas - Pulaski Technical College

Show Abstract »

Phones have become a part of our lives. They are used to measure many physical activities and measurements such as heart rate. However, academia often bands the use of phones in the classroom. This activity is ...
Raspberry Shake - "Dig Deeper into Seismology" TEACHING DEMONSTRATION
Wednesday 12:44 PT / 1:44 MT / 2:44 CT / 3:44 ET Online

Gabriel Low, Mr.

Show Abstract »

This lesson is the second lesson in Raspberry Shake's introductory lesson plan sequence and focuses on students' fundamental understanding of earthquakes, seismic waves, and how earthquake epicenters are ...
Community Science Integration for Undegraduates TEACHING DEMONSTRATION
Wednesday 1:00 PT / 2:00 MT / 3:00 CT / 4:00 ET Online

Natasha Udu-gama, AGU
Kelly McCarthy, AGU

Show Abstract »

This activity will integrate the Thriving Earth Exchange approach to community science into an introductory level undergraduate Earth science class. Community science is defined as an approach to doing science by ...
Overcoming programming challenges in Geosciences TEACHING DEMONSTRATION
Wednesday 1:26 PT / 2:26 MT / 3:26 CT / 4:26 ET Online

Jonathan Cohen, University of Delaware
Matthew Oliver, University of Delaware

Show Abstract »

One consequence of living in a highly connected world is that students are bombarded with geoscience information claiming to be scientifically factual. One major challenge for students trying to determine the ...
Overcoming Narrative Challenges in Geosciences TEACHING DEMONSTRATION
Wednesday 1:39 PT / 2:39 MT / 3:39 CT / 4:39 ET Online

Matthew Oliver, University of Delaware
Jonathan Cohen, University of Delaware

Show Abstract »

One consequence of living in a highly connected world is that students are bombarded with geoscience information claiming to support or encourage particular attitudes or dispositions toward the natural world. These ...
Learning outcomes of the educational board game Taphonomy: Dead and Fossilized and associated lesson plan, implemented in secondary classrooms. ORAL SESSION
Wednesday 1:45pm PT / 2:45 MT / 3:45 CT / 4:45 ET Online

Estefania Salgado-Jauregui, The University of Texas at Austin
Rowan Martindale, The University of Texas at Austin
Enrique Reyes, Akins High School
Kathy Ellins, The University of Texas at Austin
Anna Weiss, University of Belize Environmental Research Institute

Show Abstract »

Educational games are designed to help students retain educational material, gain a deeper understanding of concepts, and become innovative problem solvers. Like other active learning activities, games have been ...
How do students choose to assess themselves prior to exams? Investigating the effects of implementing a "dynamic" quizzing feature within a web-based assessment tool. ORAL SESSION
Wednesday 2:00 PT / 3:00 MT / 4:00 CT / 5:00 ET Online

Jason Jones, North Carolina State University
David McConnell, North Carolina State University

Show Abstract »

Students are often unaware of potential gaps in their knowledge while preparing for course exams until it is too late. As a result, we developed a web-based assessment tool called the Confidence-based Learning ...
Teaching for a Changing World: Water resources and melting ice WORKSHOP
Thursday, Friday 8-11am PT / 9am-12pm MT / 10am-1pm CT / 11am-2pm ET Online

Becca Walker, Mt. San Antonio College
Beth Pratt-Sitaula, UNAVCO

Show Abstract »

Integrating cutting edge data and quantitative skills into introductory courses can be challenging. The GEodesy Tools for Societal Issues (GETSI) project has developed a suite of undergraduate teaching modules to ...
Course Design: Using effective lesson design strategies to enhance the use of active learning WORKSHOP
Thursday, Friday 8:30am-11:30am

Reginald Archer, Tennessee State University
Jason Jones, North Carolina State University

Show Abstract »

This workshop will address how to approach course design in a manner that will maximize clarity and provide opportunities for all students to succeed. Participants will work collaboratively with workshop leaders ...
Facilitating Student Centered Community Action Projects AFTERNOON MINI WORKSHOP
Thursday 1:30-4pm PT / 2:30-5pm MT / 3:30-6pm CT / 4:30-7pm ET Online

Sarah Johnson, Wild Rose Education

Show Abstract »

Come learn from the Youth Water Leadership Program a few tips and tricks to creating student-centered authentic place-based learning opportunities for secondary students. Through interactive activities and group ...
Applying the ICAP Theory of Cognitive Engagement to Active Geoscience Learning AFTERNOON MINI WORKSHOP
Thursday 1:30-4pm PT / 2:30-5pm MT / 3:30-6pm CT / 4:30-7pm ET Online

Cathy Cullicott, Arizona State University at the Tempe Campus
Steven Semken, Arizona State University at the Tempe Campus

Show Abstract »

While research supports the use of active learning methods in teaching geoscience and other STEM courses, determining what constitutes "active learning" is a challenge to incorporating more such methods. ...
Eos in the Classroom: Building Educational Resources with Science News AFTERNOON MINI WORKSHOP
Thursday 1:30-4pm PT / 2:30-5pm MT / 3:30-6pm CT / 4:30-7pm ET Online

Eric Riggs, Texas A & M University
Heather Goss, American Geophysical Union

Show Abstract »

The Earth and space sciences are exciting because they literally span the entire world—the entire universe—that we live in, but this magnitude can sometimes be difficult to capture and convey to students. ...