Project EDDIE Webinar: Helping students critically evaluate data

Friday November 12, 2021

1:30 pm PT | 2:30 pm MT | 3:30 pm CT | 4:30 pm ET

Register by Wednesday, November 10 »

Presenters:

Annette Brickley, NES-LTER Education and Outreach Coordinator, Kathy Browne, Rider University, and Gabi Smalley, Rider University

Description:

The "A-B-C" structure of all EDDIE modules is designed to build student skills towards independent evidence-based thinking and communicating. Using a long term data set from the Chesapeake Bay, the authors of the Hypoxia in Coastal Marine Ecosystems module will share how they designed and modified the "parts" to meet students' needs to think critically about data.  From a decade-long time series showing annual change, students step from recognizing simpler patterns to pulling apart more complex patterns with time lag and correlations.  Contextual understanding of nutrients, photosynthesis and respiration, estuarine ecosystems, and anthropogenic input all deepen the inquiry.

Webinar Goals:

By the end of the event attendees will:

  1. Have an introduction to the strategies for teaching students how to begin graphing and analyzing openly available environmental data that includes time series.
  2. Learn about the Project EDDIE Hypoxia in Coastal Marine Ecosystems module and how it was implemented in a virtual undergraduate setting.
  3. Gain ideas for how you might adapt the Project EDDIE Hypoxia in Coastal Marine Ecosystems module for use in your classroom.

Logistics

Duration: 1 hour
Format: The event will take place through a Zoom Meeting screen-sharing session. The presentation will be recorded.
Accessing the Webinar: Instructions for joining the webinar has been emailed to registered participants. Contact Monica Bruckner (mbruckne@carleton.edu) if you had registered and need the link. Learn more about accessing the webinar.
Questions? Please contact Monica Bruckner (mbruckne@carleton.edu) if you have any questions about this event.