Project EDDIE Webinar: Measuring Sustainability? Teaching Sustainability Using GAPMinder

Thursday, October 28, 2021

12 pm PT | 1 pm MT | 2 pm CT | 3 pm ET

Register by Tuesday, October 26 »

Presenter:

Natalie D. Hunt, University of MN-Twin Cities

Description:

Sustainability is a complex term that is applied to many different contexts. How do you help your students think about what sustainability entails and how it might be measured? This webinar will engage audiences in helping students in introductory environmental science and sustainability courses frame sustainability questions and identify and compare sustainability metrics using the Gapminder tool. It will highlight ways to engage your students in defining sustainability metrics and exploring publicly available datasets using an online tool from the Sustainability Metrics module.

Webinar Goals:

By the end of the event attendees will:

  1. Have an introduction to the strategies for using the Gapminder tool to teach about sustainability.
  2. Learn about the Project EDDIE Sustainability Metrics module and how it was implemented
  3. Gain ideas for how you might adapt the Project EDDIE Sustainability Metrics module for use in your classroom.

Logistics

Duration: 1 hour
Format: The event will take place through a Zoom Meeting screen-sharing session. The presentation will be recorded.
Accessing the Webinar: Instructions for joining the webinar has been emailed to registered participants. Contact Monica Bruckner (mbruckne@carleton.edu) if you had registered and need the link. Learn more about accessing the webinar.
Questions? Please contact Monica Bruckner (mbruckne@carleton.edu) if you have any questions about this event.