The Green Infrastructure EDDIE Module: an Interdisciplinary Approach to Developing Student Problem Solving Skills

Wednesday December 1, 2021
12:00 pm PT | 1:00 pm MT | 2:00 pm CT | 3:00 pm ET (Duration - 1 hour)

Register by November 29

Presenter:

Elizabeth Farrell, SUNY Nassau Community College; CUNY Queens College

Description:

This webinar explores ideas for connecting the Green Infrastructure/Green Roofs module to other areas of your course to improve student learning. There are opportunities to reinforce analytical and conceptual understanding important to hydrology and sustainability. You will learn about examples of how the module was connected to other content in a non majors environmental science course, but reflect on and discuss connections to content in your course. Participants will explore a user friendly hydrological modeling website that can help students evaluate real world solutions to urban runoff by encouraging critical thinking and problem solving.

Webinar Goals:

By the end of the event attendees will:

  1. Have an introduction to the strategies for teaching students about green infrastructure.
  2. Learn about the Project EDDIE Green Infrastructure/Green Roofs module and how it was implemented
  3. Gain ideas for how you might adapt the Project EDDIE Green Infrastructure/Green Roofs module for use in your classroom.

Logistics

Duration: 1 hour
Format: The event will take place through a Zoom Meeting screen-sharing session. The presentation will be recorded.
Accessing the Webinar: Instructions for joining the webinar will be emailed to registered participants a day or two before the webinar takes place. Contact Monica Bruckner (mbruckne@carleton.edu) if you have questions.
Questions? Please contact Monica Bruckner (mbruckne@carleton.edu) if you have any questions about this event.


      Next Page »