Project EDDIE Meet the Author Event: Engaging students in physical oceanography through data analyses

Friday, November 19, 2021

11 am PT | 12 pm MT | 1 pm CT | 2 pm ET

Register by Wednesday, November 17 »

Presenters:

April Watson, Lynn University and Jacqui Jenkins-Degan, Cape Fear Community College

Description:

Understanding physical processes in the ocean is an important topic covered in oceanography and hazards courses. Teaching it through data analyses helps your students better understand how the ocean works. This event brings together the authors of two project EDDIE modules: Wind and Ocean Ecosystems and Bomb Cyclones-They're Explosive so that you can explore opportunities to engage your students in exploring wind data, upwelling, and storms. You will have time for discussion with one of the authors at the end of the event.

Webinar Goals:

By the end of the event attendees will:

  1. Have an introduction to the strategies for using large data sets to teach about physical oceanography and hazards.
  2. Learn about the Project EDDIE Wind and Ocean Ecosystems and Bomb Cyclones-They're Explosive modules and how they were implemented
  3. Gain ideas for how you might adapt the Project EDDIE Wind and Ocean Ecosystems and Bomb Cyclones-They're Explosive modules for use in your classroom.

Logistics

Duration: 1 hour
Format: The event will take place through a Zoom Meeting screen-sharing session. It will begin with a short presentation by the authors followed by small group discussions in breakout rooms for each module so you can discuss them more in depth with the author. The presentation part of the event will be recorded.
Accessing the Event: Instructions for joining the webinar has been emailed to registered participants. Contact Monica Bruckner (mbruckne@carleton.edu) if you had registered and need the link. Learn more about accessing the webinar.
Questions? Please contact Monica Bruckner (mbruckne@carleton.edu) if you have any questions about this event.


      Next Page »