Project EDDIE Meet the Author Event: Teaching Climate Change with data in your introductory course

Friday, September 17, 2021

12 pm PT | 1 pm MT | 2 pm CT | 3 pm ET

Presenters:

Allison Jacobel, Middlebury College and Kelly Knight, Houston Community College System

Description:

Teaching undergraduate non-science majors how to analyze climate data calls for careful consideration of their backgrounds and interests. This event brings together the authors of two Project EDDIE modules: Paleoclimate and Ocean Biogeochemistry and Prairie Eco Services so that you might explore how to start teaching your students about climate change using data. You will have time for discussion with one of the authors at the end of this event.

Webinar Goals:

By the end of the event attendees will:

  1. Have an introduction to the strategies for using large data sets to teach about climate change.
  2. Learn about the Project EDDIE Paleoclimate and Ocean Biogeochemistry and Prairie Eco Services modules and how they were implemented
  3. Gain ideas for how you might adapt the Project EDDIE Paleoclimate and Ocean Biogeochemistry and Prairie Eco Services modules for use in your classroom.

Logistics

Duration: 1 hour
Format: The event will take place through a Zoom Meeting screen-sharing session. It will begin with a short presentation by the authors followed by small group discussions in breakout rooms for each module so you can discuss them more in depth with the author. The presentation part of the event will be recorded.
Accessing the Webinar: Instructions for joining the webinar has been emailed to registered participants. Contact Bradlee Cotton (bcotton@carleton.edu) if you had registered and need the link. Learn more about accessing the webinar.
Questions? Please contact Monica Bruckner (mbruckne@carleton.edu) if you have any questions about this event.


      Next Page »