Initial Publication Date: March 9, 2023

Early Career Geoscience Faculty Virtual Visit to the National Science Foundation

Event Schedule
(all times Eastern Daylight Time)

Wednesday, June 28

11:50 am (10:50 am central) - Introduction and Welcoming Remarks, Tim Patten, Deputy Assistant Director, Geosciences Directorate, and Lina Patino, Supervisory Program Director, Division of Research, Innovation, Synergies, and Education


Thursday, July 6

1:30-2:15 pm - Petrology and Geochemistry, Program Officers Jennifer Wade and Jennifer Wenner

2:30-3:10 pm - Individual meetings with Jennifer Wade and Jennifer Wenner (schedule provided via email)


Monday, July 10

11:00-11:45 am - Program/division small-group meetings (participants attend one)

  • Hydrological Sciences, Program Officers Laura Lautz, Hendratta Ali, and Chris Lowry
  • Geobiology and Low Temperature Geochemistry, Program Officer Yurena Yanes
  • Tectonics, Program Officer Audrey Huerta
  • Programs in the Division of Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences, Program Officers Eric DeWeaver, Chungu Lu, Sylvia Edgerton, and Yu Gu
  • Programs in the Division of Ocean Sciences, Program Officers Liz Canuel, Rolf Sonnerup, Joe Carlin, Gail Christeson, Cynthia Suchman, and Lisa Rom

12:45-1:30 pm - Concurrent Sessions (participants attend one)

  • Instrumentation and Facilities in Earth Sciences, Program Officer Amanda Keen-Zebert
  • Frontiers in Earth Sciences (FRES), Program Officer Candace Major
  • Ocean Sciences Logistics/Ship Time, Alice Doyle, Deputy Executive Secretary, UNOLS

2:30-3:15 pm - Polar Programs, Program Officers Mike Jackson, Becky Gast, Will Ambrose, and Kelly Brunt

1:40-3:40 pm - Individual appointments with Program Officers (schedule provided via email)


Tuesday, July 11

10:00-10:45 am - Supporting undergraduate education in the Geosciences, Program Officer Keith Sverdrup

11:00-11:45 am - CAREER Program, Program Officers Lisa Rom, Alberto Perez-Huerta, and Liz Canuel

12:45-1:30 pm - Data Management and Cyberinfrastructure for NSF supported projects, Program Officer Raleigh Martin

1:40-2:25 pm - Research, Innovation, Synergies, and Education in Geosciences (RISE), Program Officers Aisha Morris, Manda Adams, Becca Barnes, Raleigh Martin, Madeline Midyette, Lina Patino, and Barbara Ransom

2:40-3:40 pm - Individual meetings with program officers (schedule provided via email)

Check in with Ben Laabs after the virtual NSF visit so we know how it went!

« Previous Page