Workshops, Webinars and Events

This is a list of upcoming events from across the Teach the Earth family of sites.


Project EDDIE Webinar: Measuring Sustainability? Teaching Sustainability Using GAPMinder
Oct 28 2021 Thursday, October 28, 2021 12 pm PT | 1 pm MT | 2 pm CT | 3 pm ET Presenter: Natalie D. Hunt, University of MN-Twin Cities Description: Sustainability is a complex term that is applied to many different contexts. ...

The City as the Field: Inclusive early-undergraduate geophysics teaching modules to address urban environmental challenges
Nov 2 2021 In this webinar, we will showcase the project Introducing Geophysics for Urban and Near-surface Applications (IGUaNA). This project includes a set of curricular modules that feature the applications of shallow geophysical techniques to societally-relevant, real-world problems that are designed to help attract a more diverse population of students to the geosciences.

Project EDDIE Module Adoption Workshop
Nov 5-10 2021 November 5th and November 9th OR 10th Virtual Workshop (3 hour core session, plus plan on attending one additional 3 hour session on inclusive teaching) About this workshop: Adapt a Project EDDIE Module for your ...

Project EDDIE Webinar: Helping students critically evaluate data
Nov 12 2021 Friday November 12, 2021 1:30 pm PT | 2:30 pm MT | 3:30 pm CT | 4:30 pm ET Register by Wednesday, November 10 » Presenters: Annette Brickley, NES-LTER Education and Outreach Coordinator, Kathy Browne, Rider ...

Project EDDIE Meet the Author Event: Engaging students in physical oceanography through data analyses
Nov 19 2021 Friday, November 19, 2021 11 am PT | 12 pm MT | 1 pm CT | 2 pm ET Register by Wednesday, November 17 » Presenters: April Watson, Lynn University and Jacqui Jenkins-Degan, Cape Fear Community College ...

The Green Infrastructure EDDIE Module: an Interdisciplinary Approach to Developing Student Problem Solving Skills
Dec 1 2021 Wednesday December 1, 2021 12:00 pm PT | 1:00 pm MT | 2:00 pm CT | 3:00 pm ET (Duration - 1 hour) Register by November 29 Presenter: Elizabeth Farrell, SUNY Nassau Community College; CUNY Queens College ...

Virtual Workshop: Teaching Computational Skills and Problem-Solving with MATLAB and Simulink
Dec 9-11 2021 This December 9-11 workshop, held online, will bring together Asia-Pacific engineering and science educators teaching computational skills or problem-solving who are interested in strengthening their courses, ...

January 2022 Module Development & Community Building Experience
Jan 20 - Feb 10, 2022 Leader Workspace (Limited access) » This meeting will now be held virtually via Zoom, with sessions on: Thursday, Jan 20 Kick-off meeting (10-3 Central) Thursday, Jan 27 (10-3 Central) Thursday, Feb 10 (12-4 ...

Workshop for Early Career Geoscience Faculty
Jun 20-24 2022 June 20-24, 2022, with an optional virtual visit to NSF in Summer 2022 University of Maryland, College Park, MD Apply by March 1, 2022 Join us for a multi-day workshop in a stimulating and resource-rich ...

Earth Educators' Rendezvous 2022
Jul 11-15 2022 July 11-15, 2022 | University of Minnesota, Twin Cities × Save the date for the Eighth Annual Earth Educators' Rendezvous, July 11-15, 2022, hosted by the Department of Earth & Environmental ...

Advertisement