SAGE 2YC > Workshops > Strategies for Supporting 2YC-4YC/U Student Transfer in the Geosciences

Webinar: Strategies for Supporting 2YC-4YC/U Student Transfer in the Geosciences

Friday, November 21, 2014
3-4 PM Eastern | 2-3 PM Central | 1-2 PM Mountain | 12-1 PM Pacific

Conveners : Karen Layou (Reynolds Community College) and Heather Macdonald (College of William and Mary)
Presenters: Diane Doser (University of Texas, El Paso), Kaatje Kraft (Whatcom Community College), Karen Layou (Reynolds Community College), Gretchen Miller (Wake Tech Community College), and Katryn Wiese (City College of San Francisco)

Format: Online web presentation via Adobe Connect web conference software with questions and discussion. Participants will receive an email with instructions detailing how to log into the event approximately one week prior to the event.
This event has already occurred.

Webinar Description

Many students enroll at two-year colleges (2YC) as a cost-effective and flexible entry to college. For those students who intend to continue on at a four-year college or university (4YC), however, the transfer process is often challenging. Faculty at 2YCs play a key role in identifying students who have an interest in geosciences, offering opportunities that serve the advising needs of these students, and providing students with activities in and beyond the classroom that promote the skills and interactions necessary for success at a 4YC. Likewise, faculty at 4YCs can foster transfer student success through targeted advising, specific transition programs for transfer students from 2YCs (e.g., field trips), and curricular alignment with 2YC programs. Through strong collaborations, faculty at both 2YCs and 4YCs can work to minimize transfer shock and facilitate the transfer process. During the webinar, we will have time for discussion and questions. We hope you will join us!

Webinar Materials

Screencast for SAGE 2YC 112114 webinar John McDaris, Carleton College Download Strategies for Supporting 2YC-4YC/U Student Transfer in the Geosciences (MP4 Video 622MB) Details
Watch the Screencast of the webinar.