Workshops and Webinars

Upcoming Events

Webinar: Engaging Undergraduates with the Data Behind Melting Ice and Changing Sea Levels

Date: Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Time: 1:00 pm PT | 2:00 pm MT | 3:00 pm CT | 4:00 pm ET
Register by November 11, 2019

Workshop: GETSI Field Phase 2 Kick-Off Meeting

Date: November 15-17, 2019
Location: UNAVCO Office, Boulder, CO
By invitation only for PIs and Field Cohort 1 members.

Short Course @AGU: Using Geophysics Data to Teach About Flooding, Landslides, and Climate Change in Undergraduate Majors Courses

Date: Sunday December 8, 2019
Time: 8 am - 5 pm
Location: American Geophysical Union Annual Meeting, San Francisco, CA

Short Course: Field Education Short Course: May 2020

Date: Week of May 18, 2020
Location: Idaho State University, Pocatello, ID
More info TBA

GETSI will be holding additional dissemination webinars and short courses as modules are published.

Past Events

Webinar: Using GPS data to teach about the Earth in introductory undergraduate courses: plate tectonics, earthquakes, water cycle, and ice mass change

Date: Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Time: 11:00 am PT | 12:00 pm MT | 1:00 pm CT | 2:00 pm ET

Short Course @GSA: Preparing Undergraduates -- Data-Rich Introductory Teaching Modules and Connecting Content to Geoscience Careers

Date: September 21, 2019
Time: 8 am - 5 pm
Location: Phoenix Convention Center West Building, Room 106A, Geological Society of America Annual Meeting, Phoenix, AZ

Short Course @EER: Teaching Introductory Geoscience with Data and Math in a Societal Context Using GETSI Modules

Date: July 15-17, 2019
Time: 8:30-11:30 am each day
Location: Earth Educators Rendezvous, Nashville, TN

Short course: Measuring Water Resources with GPS, Gravity, and Traditional Methods: Undergraduate Teaching Module - @AGU

Date: Tuesday December 11, 2018
Time: 4:00-6:00 pm
Location: American Geophysical Union Annual Meeting, Marriott Marquis, Georgetown Room

Short course: Using kinematic and static GPS in undergraduate field courses

Date: August 14-17, 2018
Times: 6 pm Tuesday August 14th - noon Friday August 17th.
Location: Idaho State University, Pocatello, ID

Webinar: Integrating GPS, SfM, and TLS into Geoscience Field Courses

Note: This webinar has already taken place. You can go to the webinar page to view the presentation slides and for additional references and resources.
Tuesday, April 24, 2018
Joint webinar hosted by the InTeGrate Project

Webinar: Addressing Landslide Hazards in Introductory Undergraduate Courses

Note: This webinar has already taken place. You can go to the webinar page to view the presentation slides and for additional references and resources.
Wednesday, April 18, 2018
Joint webinar hosted by the InTeGrate Project

Workshop session: 5th Biennial Structural Geology and Tectonics Forum

Session: Review and Demonstration of Available Geodetic Imaging Resources for Education
Date: Sunday January 7, 2018
Times: 1 pm - 5 pm
Location: Arizona State University, Tempe, AZ
Teaching Resources described during the session can largely be found on the GETSI, OpenTopography, and UNAVCO Education webpages
Session presentations:

Short course: @ AGU - Using GPS data in undergraduate courses: from tectonic motions to water resources and climate change issues

Date: Sunday December 10, 2017
Times: 8 am - 5 pm (lunch included)
Location: American Geophysical Union Annual Meeting, New Orleans, LA ; Hilton Riverside, Third Floor, Canal Rm

Short course: Using high resolution topography, UAVs, and GPS in undergraduate field education

Date: August 15-18, 2017
Times: 6 pm Tuesday August 15th, 2017 - noon Friday August 18th.
Location: UNAVCO, Boulder, CO

Webinar: Addressing Earthquake Hazards with LiDAR, GPS, and InSAR in Upper-level Undergraduate Courses

Note: This webinar has already taken place. You can go to the webinar page to view the presentation slides and for additional references and resources.
Date: Thursday April 13, 2017
Joint webinar hosted by the InTeGrate Project

Short Course: Hooking undergraduates into geophysics data and methods (GPS, Lidar, InSAR, SfM photogrammetry) through societally important issues

Date: Sunday December 11, 2016
Times: 8 am - 5 pm
Location: American Geophysical Union Annual Meeting
Sponsored by: UNAVCO, University of Houston, GETSI, AGU, and NAGT.

Webinar: Addressing Water Resources and Sustainability in Upper-level Undergraduate Courses

Note: This webinar has already taken place. You can go to the webinar page to view the presentation slides and for additional references and resources.
Date: Thursday October 6th, 2016
Joint webinar hosted by the InTeGrate Project

Short course: Using TLS and Structure from Motion (SfM) Photogrammetry in Undergraduate Field Education

Date: August 16-19, 2016
Location: Indiana University Geologic Field Station in Cardwell, MT

Short course: Geodesy Data Teaching Modules: GETSI Short Course

Date: Wednesday March 30, 2016
Location: UNAVCO Science Workshop, Broomfield, CO

Webinar: Using Data to Teach About Societally Important Questions

Note: This webinar has already taken place. You can go to the webinar page to view the presentation slides and for additional references and resources.
Date: Wednesday March 23rd, 2016
Joint webinar hosted by the InTeGrate Project

Webinar: Applying Geodesy Data to Societally Important Questions in Undergraduate Courses

Note: This webinar has already taken place. You can go to the webinar page to view the presentation slides and for additional references and resources.
Dates: January 10th & 31st, 2014


      Next Page »