Enhancing Student Learning in Introductory Physics Through Funds of Knowledge

Wednesday 2:00-2:30pm PT / 3:00-3:30pm MT / 4:00-4:30pm CT / 5:00-5:30pm ET Online
Poster Session Part of Posters

Authors

Liang Zeng, UTRGV
Guang Zeng, Texas A & M University-Corpus Christi

This event has already occurred.

Researchers have reported funds of knowledge (FK) pedagogical approach effective in engaging minority students in learning. However, there is a lack of studies connecting FK to introductory college physics or physical science classes. By using examples from regional Mexican-American lived experiences at an Hispanic-serving institution located along the recently politicized U.S.-Mexico border, this paper provides evidence to show how physics educators can use FK to engage students in learning introductory college physics concepts.

Session Connection Information

This event has already occurred.