Cutting Edge > Manage Your Career > Career Development > Pursuing an Academic Career 2011 > February

Pursuing an Academic Career Virtual Event Series

Negotiations in the Hiring Process: February 4, 2011

1 pm Eastern | 12 pm Central | 11 am Mountain | 10 am Pacific (1 hr)

Leaders: Timothy Bralower, Pennsylvania State University and Scott Fendorf, Stanford University

Registration deadline: January 28, 2011. Registration for this event is closed.

This virtual event provides an opportunity to learn about negotiations from two faculty who will each offer their perspective on negotiating for a faculty position. The two presenters have experiences on both sides of the hiring process. Collectively, they have been on the faculty at five universities, have mentored graduate students and post-docs during the negotiation process, and have negotiated with potential faculty hires. Each has led sessions on negotiating for previous Preparing for an Academic Career workshops. Following the presentations, we will have time for questions and discussion. We hope you will join us!

Jump down to: References, resources, and the presentation from this virtual event


Goals for participants are:

Time - 1 pm Eastern | 12 pm Central | 11 am Mountain | 10 am Pacific
Duration - 1 hour
Format - Online web presentation via Elluminate web conference software with questions and discussion. Participants will receive an email with instructions detailing how to log into the event approximately one week prior to the event.
Registration - There is no registration fee, but registration is required to save a space. Space is limited to 45, so please be sure you can commit before registering. Registration closes when the spaces fill or January 28, 2011, whichever comes first. Please complete the registration form if you are interested and able to participate.

Please email Rachel Beane (rbeane AT bowdoin.edu) if you have any questions about this event or Monica Bruckner (mbruckne AT carleton.edu) if you have technical questions.

Presenters

Timothy Bralower is Department Head and a Professor of Geosciences at Penn State. A career profile for Dr. Bralower is available from the Career Prep website.

Scott Fendorf is a Professor, Department Chair, and Senior Fellow with the Woods Institute for the Environment, in the Department of Environmental Earth System Science at Stanford University. For more information, see his faculty web page at Stanford.


References and Resources


Watch the ScreenCast (Flash Video 105MB Feb7 11) of this event.

Negotiations in the Hiring Process Presentation (Acrobat (PDF) 2.9MB Feb4 11) - by Scott Fendorf, Timothy Bralower, Rachel Beane, and Heather Macdonald, slides presented at the February 4 virtual event.

Related Links

« Previous Page      Next Page »