On the Cutting Edge - Professional Development for Geoscience Faculty
Career Development
Topical Resources
Cutting Edge > Career Development > Pursuing an Academic Career 2012

Pursuing an Academic Career in the Geosciences:
A Series of Webinars for Graduate Students, Post-docs, and Early Career Faculty

Field learning
Beginning an academic career is challenging. This series of virtual events offers resources for and insights into effective teaching, career planning, and teaching philosophies. This series will involve an online web presentation via Blackboard Collaborate web conference software with questions and discussion.


Registration - There is no registration fee, but registration is required to save a space (and because space is limited in each event, be sure you can commit before registering). Registration closes when the spaces fill or one week prior to the event, whichever comes first. Please complete the form linked from the monthly event page to register. Registered participants will receive an email with instructions detailing how to log into the event approximately one week prior to the event. You may register for a single webinar or for multiple.

Goals

This series is targeted to graduate students and post-doctoral fellows planning a future academic career, and to early career faculty. Goals for participants are to:

Schedule of Topics

To participate, please register through the linked monthly event page for one or more of the following topics:

January 20, 2012 (Friday): Preparing for an academic job interview in the geosciences
Leaders: Rachel Beane, Bowdoin College; Heather Macdonald, College of William and Mary; Michael Williams, University of Massachusetts
2 pm Eastern | 1 pm Central | 12 pm Mountain | 11 am Pacific

February 15, 2012 (Wednesday): Learning to learn: What will they remember in five years?
Leader: Karl Wirth, Macalester College
2 pm Eastern | 1 pm Central | 12 pm Mountain | 11 am Pacific

March 9, 2012 (Friday): Linking goals, assessment and teaching strategies to promote effective learning
Leader: David McConnell, North Carolina State University
2 pm Eastern | 1 pm Central | 12 pm Mountain | 11 am Pacific

April 10, 2012 (Tuesday): Setting goals for effective and innovative courses
Leader: Barbara Tewksbury, Hamilton College
1:30 pm Eastern | 12:30pm Central | 11:30 am Mountain | 10:30 am Pacific (1.5 hrs)

May 2, 2012: Developing a thriving research program and balancing it with teaching, service and other passions
Leaders: Rachel Beane, Bowdoin College; Michael Williams, University of Massachusetts; Francisca Oboh-Ikuenobe, Missouri University of Science and Technology
2 pm Eastern | 1 pm Central | 12 pm Mountain | 11 am Pacific

Pursuing an Academic Career Conveners


This workshop is part of the On the Cutting Edge professional development program for current and future geoscience faculty, sponsored by the National Association of Geoscience Teachers with funding provided by a grant from the National Science Foundation Division of Undergraduate Education .



      Next Page »