Cutting Edge > Manage Your Career > Career Development > Pursuing an Academic Career 2011

Pursuing an Academic Career in the Geosciences:
A Series of Virtual Events for Graduate Students and Post-docs

Beginning an academic career is challenging. This series of virtual events offers resources for and insights into effective teaching, career planning, the job-search, and learning more about faculty positions in different types of institutions. This series of events will involve an online web presentation via Elluminate web conference software with questions and discussion.


Registration - There is no registration fee, but registration is required to save a space (and because space is limited in each event, be sure you can commit before registering). Registration closes when the spaces fill or one week prior to the event, whichever comes first. Please complete the form linked from the monthly event page to register. Registered participants will receive an email with instructions detailing how to log into the event approximately one week prior to the event.

Goals

This series is targeted to graduate students and post-doctoral fellows planning a future academic career. Goals for participants are to:

Schedule of Topics

To participate, please register through the linked monthly event page for one or more of the following topics:

January 21, 2011 (Friday): Interactive Teaching
Leaders: Rachel Beane, Bowdoin College and Heather Macdonald, College of William and Mary
3 pm Eastern | 2 pm Central | 1 pm Mountain | 12 pm Pacific (1.5 hrs)

February 4, 2011 (Friday): Negotiations in the Hiring Process
Leaders: Timothy Bralower, Pennsylvania State University and Scott Fendorf, Stanford University
1 pm Eastern | 12 pm Central | 11 am Mountain | 10 am Pacific (1 hr)

April 22, 2011 (Friday): Developing Yourself as a Teacher: Teaching Philosophies, Teaching Styles, and Teaching Statements
Leaders: Rachel Beane, Bowdoin College and Heather Macdonald, College of William and Mary
2 pm Eastern | 1 pm Central | 12 pm Mountain | 11 am Pacific (1 hr)

May, 11 2011, (Wednesday): Strategic Early Career Planning
Leader: Rachel O'Brien, Allegheny College
3 pm Eastern | 2 pm Central | 1 pm Mountain | 12 am Pacific (1 hr)

June 21, 2011 (Tuesday): Faculty Positions: Exploring the Range of Possibilities
Leaders: Rachel Beane, Bowdoin College and Heather Macdonald, College of William and Mary
2 pm Eastern | 1 pm Central | 12 pm Mountain | 11 am Pacific (1.5 hrs)

Pursuing an Academic Career Conveners


This workshop is part of the On the Cutting Edge professional development program for current and future geoscience faculty, sponsored by the National Association of Geoscience Teachers with funding provided by a grant from the National Science Foundation Division of Undergraduate Education .



      Next Page »