Program


Each day starts at 8 AM PT | 9 AM MT | 10 AM CT | 11 AM ET and involves live participation over the next 3 hours. The details of this program may change but the daily start time is firm.

Monday, January 12

How technology can improve learning outcomes

8:00--11:00am PT / 9:00am--12:00pm MT / 10:00am--1:00pm CT / 11:00am--2:00pm ET

Overview of class technologies in use beyond the geosciences Presentation of workshop events - with explanation of case studies, final day gallery walk and participant presentations.

  • 10 min: Workshop Overview - Jonathan Tomkin
  • 90 min: How People Learn (PowerPoint 940kB Jan12 15) Opening Address and Group Activity, and presentation on Flipping Classes (PowerPoint 1.8MB Jan12 15)- Jose Mestre, Illinois, Physics and Educational Psychology
  • 15 min: Educational Technology group discussion
    • What are participants hoping to do in their classes?
  • 15 min: Introduction to breakout groups - Molly Kent
  • 40 min: Learning Objectives with Technology break-out discussion
    • What are our big questions and challenges?
  • 10 min: Action Plan Overview

Daily outcome:

  • Individuals discuss their class challenges and form small working groups that are addressing similar problems.
  • Individuals outline their Action Plan for the Friday gallery walk - will they present a class session, curriculum, project or activity?
  • Participants write-up their learning objectives for the Action Plan.

Tuesday, January 13

Using active learning technology in the classroom - How and why we use it, Part 1

8:00--11:00am PT / 9:00am--12:00pm MT / 10:00am--1:00pm CT / 11:00am--2:00pm ET

Led by Leo Porter & Cynthia Lee

  • 30 min: Peer Instruction: an Introduction (PowerPoint 2007 (.pptx) 3.8MB Jan13 15) - Cynthia Lee
  • 60 min: PI Class observations and discussion.
    • 2 rounds of observation then discussion in break-outs and whole group
    • PI Handout (Microsoft Word 2007 (.docx) 17kB Jan12 15)
  • 15 min: break
  • 60 min: Participant survey and discussion
  • 15 min: Wrap-up and check in with Jonathan

Daily outcome:

  • Groups produce work activity on flipping the classroom for use on Wednesday.
  • Individuals format Friday presentation from initial essay application.

Wednesday, January 14

Using active learning technology in the classroom - How and why we use it, Part 2

8:00--11:00am PT / 9:00am--12:00pm MT / 10:00am--1:00pm CT / 11:00am--2:00pm ET

Led by Leo Porter & Cynthia Lee

  • 30 min: Summary of obstacles that have been mentioned
    • 2 groups work through list to suggest solutions
  • 15 min: break
  • 60 min: Each group will present their question for feedback
  • 15 min: Post-workshop planning (PowerPoint 2007 (.pptx) 165kB Jan14 15); share resources and choose a "buddy"
  • 15 min: Wrap-up and check in with Jonathan
Daily outcome:
  • Groups and individuals who are using flipped classroom or Peer Instruction models in their Friday presentations discuss and write-up their contributions.

Thursday, January 15

Examining the diversity of technologies and techniques

8:00--11:00am PT / 9:00am--12:00pm MT / 10:00am--1:00pm CT / 11:00am--2:00pm ET

Today we'll examine a range of technological options that match up with participant's interests - class response systems, peer essay grading, and web resources - including MOOCs!

Daily outcome:

  • Groups and individuals finalize gallery walk presentation for Friday.

Friday, January 16

Workshop participant case studies

8:00--11:00am PT / 9:00am--12:00pm MT / 10:00am--1:00pm CT / 11:00am--2:00pm ET

What are you going to make or change in your class? Present your plan, an outline class or activity. Is there anything that we need feedback on?

  • 15 min: Gallery Walk introduction - Jonathan Tomkin
  • 2 hr: Gallery Walk and Discussion - all participants present their Action Plans
  • 30 min: Individual revision with feedback
  • 15 min: Wrap-up and Workshop Evaluation

Daily outcome:

  • Presentations are edited for feedback and collected.
  • Participants complete the workshop evaluation

Resources




Workshop DIscussion  

Use this discussion thread to find a progress support partner, share additional resources, or ask questions of the group. And don't forget there is the email list, too.

7099:23611

Share edittextuser=10003 post_id=23611 initial_post_id=0 thread_id=7099

Join the Discussion


Log in to reply

Advertisement