Past Workshops, Webinars and Events


Refine the Results↓

Sponsoring Projects


Help

Results 1 - 10 of 573 matches

GeoCode: Using GPS Data to Visualize Plate Movement and Assess Earthquake Risk
Apr 20 2021 Tuesday, April 20, 2021 × 12:00pm PT | 1:00pm MT | 2:00pm CT | 3:00pm ET Registration deadline has passed. Presenters Chris Lore, Research Assistant, The Concord Consortium Stephanie Seevers, Recipient of ...

Mini short course: Teaching about Eyes on the Hydrosphere: Tracking Water Resources
Apr 14 2021 Wednesday April 14, 2021 10 am-12 pm PT | 11 am-1 pm MT | 12-2 pm CT | 1-3 pm ET | 5-7 pm UTC Capacity Reached. Registration closed. This course is part of the GETSI Virtual Mini Short Course Series. Instructors ...

Webinar: Social Media, from the chat room to the classroom
Apr 8 2021 In this webinar, participants will learn how to harness the power of social media as an educational tool and find out how scientists and educators are using these platforms to teach critical thinking, be conscientious and responsible consumers of information, expose students to new concepts, follow breaking scientific news and teachable moments, have personal interactions with scientists and experts in a variety of fields, build communities of support, and dispel the fear/expectations of starting a Social Media account (worry of politics, inappropriateness, etc).

ShakeAlert: Educational resources for teaching about earthquakes and early warning in the US
Mar 31 2021 In this webinar, we will introduce the ShakeAlert® Earthquake Early Warning (EEW) system for the West Coast of the United States. We will focus on the development of resources for a range of audiences in formal learning environments and free-choice learning venues. Participants will learn about our other resources, which include a multi-lingual messaging toolkit, science education products such as animations, and training protocols used by technical partners who deliver ShakeAlert-powered alerts to people and automated systems.

Graduate student onboarding courses: Exposing the hidden curriculum to help your students succeed
Mar 30 2021 In this webinar we'll discuss the value of graduate student onboarding, and explore potential topics for inclusion in such courses including student-advisor relationships, time management, communication skills, ethics and professionalism, and the research process.

Mini short course: Teaching about Modeling Flood Hazards
Mar 25 2021 Thursday March 25, 2021 12-2 pm PT | 1-3 pm MT | 2-4 pm CT | 3-5 pm ET | 7-9 pm UTC Capacity reached. Registration is closed. This course is part of the GETSI Virtual Mini Short Course Series. Instructors ...

Mini short course: Teaching about Planning for Failure: Landslide Analysis for a Safer Society
Mar 11 2021 Thursday March 11, 2021 12-2 pm PT | 1-3 pm MT | 2-4 pm CT | 3-5 pm ET | 8-10 pm UTC Registration is closed. This course is part of the GETSI Virtual Mini Short Course Series. Instructors Bobak Karimi (Wilkes ...

Webinar: Inspiring ALL Geoscience Learners Nationwide with PBS
Mar 11 2021 Join PBS stations from across the country to learn about free, ready-to-use resources and services to inspire your earth/geoscience students. With a focus on resources grounded in the science inquiry process, NGSS Science and Engineering Practices (SEPs), Cross Cutting Concepts (CCCs) and locally-relevant and authentic phenomena, this session will connect teachers with resources and strategies to ensure that the NGSS are accessible to all students.

Improving statistical skills through storytelling
Mar 3 2021 During this webinar, learn about Project EDDIE's Statistical Vignettes, which were designed to address statistical misconceptions and improve quantitative reasoning skills through an engaging storyline with diverse characters.

Mini short course: Teaching about Monitoring Volcanoes and Communicating Risks
Feb 24 2021 Wednesday February 24, 2021 8-10 am PT | 9-11 am MT | 10 am-12pm CT | 11 am-1 pm ET | 4-6 pm UTC Capacity reached. Registration closed. This course is part of the GETSI Virtual Mini Short Course Series. ...

Advertisement