Teach the Earth > Introductory Courses > Virtual Workshop 2014 > Program

Program

The program consists of several synchronous sessions with time in between for work in small groups asynchronously. We will add instructions and links to discussion threads as we proceed.

Monday, March 10 Vision and goals

11:00 am PDT | 12:00 pm MDT | 1:00 pm CDT | 2:00 pm EDT
1.5 hours synchronous time

Tuesday, March 11 Course structures

8:00 am PDT | 9:00 am MDT | 10:00 am CDT | 11:00 am EDT
1.5 hours synchronous time

1:00 pm PDT | 2:00 pm MDT | 3:00 pm CDT | 4:00 pm EDT
1 hour synchronous time

Wednesday, March 12 Classroom techniques

Work with small group prior to workshop session.

1:00 pm PDT | 2:00 pm MDT | 3:00 pm CDT | 4:00 pm EDT
1.5 hours synchronous time

Friday afternoon checkpoint

by 2:00 pm PDT | 3:00 pm MDT | 4:00 pm CDT | 5:00 pm EDT

  • Update SWOT analysis and implementation plan with:
    • Objective
    • Data you need to collect
    • Allies you need and strategies to bring them on board
    • Potential collaborators and what they bring
    • Your strategies for communicating with administrators
  • Organize your questions and either:
    • Meet as a small group to discuss them OR
    • Post questions to group discussion thread OR
    • Email questions to the listserv (introvirtual14@serc.carleton.edu) or to an individual
  • Complete the Roadcheck

Continue to work on your implementation plan over the weekend, and give feedback to others.

Monday, March 17 Management strategies and implementation

Give feedback on implementation plans to others in your small group by the time we begin on Monday.

11:00 am PDT | 12:00 pm MDT | 1:00 pm CDT | 2:00 pm EDT
2 hours synchronous time

Tuesday, March 18 Next steps

Synthesis of discussion thread posted, review before start of synchronous session.

1:00 pm PDT | 2:00 pm MDT | 3:00 pm CDT | 4:00 pm EDT
1.5 hours synchronous time
  • Sharing of resources - what is needed
  • Short presentations of successful program changes
  • Synthesis of important lessons learned and next steps
    • Lessons Learned
      • lots of great resources exist
      • ideas on how to move my class towards a flipped format
      • gained confidence in effecting change
      • gained certainty that changes need to happen
      • sense of where the community stands
      • intuitive class we already have is good
        • pull out the key aspects and codify them
        • identify the things we have that are worth sharing
      • retention and recruiting
      • there is a community of faculty interested in teaching and learning
      • confirmed that active learning is great
      • there is a critical need to find out how students learn
    • Next Steps
      • looking at learning assistants
      • share with colleagues
      • start the conversation (brown bags and so forth)
      • reach out to fellow participants (and NAGT!) about collaborations (resources, etc)
      • building up the co-teaching structure, reach out to the dept and JSG
      • think about topics that are relevant to students to boost retention and recruitment
      • touch base with the excellence in teaching center, start the conversation
      • ID the exercises and tools that will fit into my course/explore flipped format
      • try to get more specific feedback from students
      • disseminate the things we have that are already working (via SERC?)
  • End-of-workshop evaluation

Screencasts

The Changing National Landscape of STEM Education (Mar 10)

The opening presentation by Jay Labov, Senior Advisor for Education and Communication for the National Academy of Sciences (NAS) and the National Research Council (NRC)


Exploring Alternative Structures for Strengthening Your Introductory Courses (Mar 11):

This screencast is of all five presentations on exploring alternative structures.


Laurie Duncan: A very large, structured class at UT-Austin
16:10


Rachel Teasdale: A partially "flipped" classroom at CSU-Chico
10:14


Mike Jackson: A lab-lecture complete breakdown in Physics at Central Washington University
10:40


Cynthia Fadem: Structuring course content around societal issues at Earlham College
10:20


Jonathan Tomkin: Online and massively online courses (University of Illinois)
10:41


Making Change Happen on a Large Scale (Mar 11):

This screencast is of all four presentations on making change happen.
0:00


Dave Dempsey: Making Change Happen: a Parable (co-PI on NSF grant, San Francisco State University) 2:14-14:38 137-881
12:28


Deron Carter: The 2YC Perspective (co-chair of Physical Sciences department, Linn-Benton Community College) 14:56-28:01 899-1684
13:05


Kelsey Bitting: Course Redesign Initiative (post-doctoral scholar, University of Kansas) 28:03-41:11 1686-2474
13:09


Kate Miller: The Administrative Perspective (Dean of the College of Geosciences, Texas A & M) 41:42-53:03 2505-3186
11:20


Effective Classroom Techniques (Mar 12):


This screencast is of all five presentations on effective classroom techniques for engaging students and improving courses.
54:43


Michael Guebert: Using on-campus/local examples at Taylor University-Upland
11:23


Christina Belanger: Involving students in discussions at South Dakota School of Mines
11:09


Sharon Browning: Developing quantitative skills at Baylor
6:13


Elizabeth Malcolm: Using in-class activities during lecture at Virginia Wesleyan College
10:24


Dave Dempsey: Using collaborative problem solving at San Francisco State University
13:09


Summaries (Mar 17):

Discussion group synthesis of progress, suggestions and resources:
12:51


Discussion group summaries of management strategies and best practices:
26:34


Successful Program Changes (Mar 18):


Sara Harris: The Earth & Ocean Sciences Science Education Initiative at the University of British Columbia
35:06


Anne Egger: Developing a set of introductory science courses for pre-service teachers at Central Washington University
19:06




Advertisements