Cutting Edge > Problem Solving & Problem-based Learning > Problem Solving & Problem Based Learning Journal Club 2012

Problem Solving & Problem-based Learning Journal Club

January - May, 2012

January 24, February 21, March 27, April 24, May 29
9am -10am Pacific, 10am -11am Mountain, 11am -12pm Central, 12pm -1pm Eastern

The application deadline for the Journal Club has passed.

Wordle image of problem solving and problem-based learning.
Problem solving skills are crucial in addressing challenges facing today's society and help students make informed decisions as individuals acting to ensure a sustainable earth. These skills, while essential to success in geoscience, are typically not taught explicitly in K-12 or post-secondary educational settings.

From January to May, 2012, the Problem Solving & Problem-based Learning Journal Club will have virtual meetings once a month to discuss readings from the geoscience and cognitive science literature. We will explore the cognitive aspects of problem solving and their implications for geoscience education. To facilitate a deep exploration of this topic, we will run the meetings as a series, with participants committing to all five meetings. See the overview page for more information, including meeting dates and times, a few proposed readings and possible discussion topics.

Conveners:

Ellen Iverson, Science Education Resource Center, Carleton College
Cinzia Cervato, Dept. of Geological and Atmospheric Sciences, Iowa State University
Craig Ogilvie, Department of Physics and Astronomy, Iowa State University
Marcy Osgood, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, University of New Mexico


This journal club is part of the On the Cutting Edge professional development program for geoscience faculty, sponsored by the National Association of Geoscience Teachers with funding provided by a grant from the National Science Foundation Division of Undergraduate Education .


      Next Page »