Webinar: On-Ramps to more effective teaching: quick-start guides to strategies for actively engaging students to improve learning

Thursday, February 6th, 2020
Time: 11:00 am PT | 12:00 pm MT | 1:00 pm CT | 2:00 pm ET(Duration - 1 hour)

Presenters

Barb Tewksbury, Hamilton College
Phil Resor, Wesleyan University
Jen Wenner, University of Wisconsin Oshkosh


Description

Do you want to incorporate active learning strategies in your classes but aren't sure where to start? Are you looking for new approaches or fresh ideas to add to techniques that you already use? This webinar introduces the new On-Ramps collection of quick-start guides for teaching strategies that actively engage students in the classroom. On-Ramps include evidence-based and effective teaching techniques with catalyst examples that are adaptable to a wide range of courses and provide links to additional resources, including research that underpins each strategy.

This webinar is part of the NAGT Webinar Series.

Webinar Goals

  1. Introduce the On-Ramps collection, familiarize participants with their purpose and structure, and explore the range of teaching strategies in the collection.
  2. Explore how On-Ramps can be used by participants to catalyze activity development for their own classrooms.
  3. Brainstorm ways to use On-Ramps to focus departmental discussions about non-lecture-based teaching, including educating graduate students and pre-service teachers about On-Ramp techniques.

Resources

Participants are asked to read through at least one of the On-Ramps before attending the webinar. The On-Ramps can all be downloaded as a zipped folder (Zip Archive 3.6MB Oct29 19) (contains 10 pdf On-Ramps) or you can pick individual On-Ramps on the On-Ramps download page.

Main Recording

Breakout Rooms



     

Advertisement