2012 Workshop for Heads and Chairs of Earth and Space Sciences Departments

Sunday, December 2, 2012, AGU Fall Meeting, San Francisco
Location: InterContinental San Francisco, Ballroom B
888 Howard Street (directly adjacent to the Moscone West Convention Center)

The workshop registration deadline was November 1, 2012.

This one-day workshop provides an opportunity for heads and chairs of Earth and Space Science departments to discuss issues and strategies for building a strong department, meet other heads and chairs, and learn more about faculty diversity issues. The workshop program will include the following:

  • Welcome by Pranoti Asher, Manager of Education and Public Outreach, AGU
  • Introduction by Sally Sutton, Colorado State University and Chair, Board of AGU Heads and Chairs
  • Morning sessions (offered by the Building Strong Geoscience Departments Program and the Executive Committee of the Board of Heads & Chairs)
    • Evaluating faculty (Presented by John Harbor, Purdue University and Lydia Fox, University of the Pacific)
    • Best practices for faculty retention (Presented by John Geissman, University of Texas, Dallas)
    • Small-group discussions on specific topics based on participant interest (New chairs topic organized by Gary Solar, Buffalo State College; Successful field experiences organized by Matthew James, Sonoma State University; and other topics)
    • Updates from AGI on the status of geoscience workforce (Chris Keane, AGI), results and implications of the DBER report from the National Academies (Dave Mogk, Montana State University) and InTeGrate opportunities for 2013 (Cathy Manduca, SERC)
  • Lunch – small group discussion on MOOC's (moderated by Cathy Manduca, SERC) as well as business meeting
  • Afternoon session on Sustaining or Creating a Healthy Department (Presented by Susan Lozier, Duke University, Marjorie Chan, University of Utah, and Sally Sutton, Colorado State University)
  • Reception

As part of the business meeting during lunch, we elected new members of the Executive Committee of the Board of Heads & Chairs.

2011-2012 Board of the AGU Heads and Chairs of Earth and Space Science Departments
Lydia Fox, University of the Pacific (Past-Chair)
John Geissman, University of Texas at Dallas (Chair-elect)
Jon Harbor, Purdue University
Gary Solar, Buffalo State College
Sally Sutton, Colorado State University (Chair)
Matthew Jones (Sonoma State)
Katryn Wiese, City College of San Francisco

Workshop Support
Pranoti Asher, AGU, Manager of Education and Public Outreach
Heather Macdonald, College of William and Mary
Carol Ormand, SERC at Carleton College

Thank you to our 2012 Heads and Chairs Workshop Sponsors:

University of South Carolina logo
University of Oklahoma logo
University of Missouri Kansas City logo
SERC logo
BSGD logo

National Science Foundation Logo The workshop website is supported by NSF under grant EAR-0614926 to the Science Education Resource Center at Carleton College. Opinions expressed are those of the authors and are not necessarily those of the National Science Foundation.

      Next Page »