2009 Heads and Chairs workshop at AGU

2009 Workshop for Heads and Chairs of Earth and Space Sciences Departments

Sunday, December 13, 2009, AGU Fall Meeting, San Francisco
InterContinental Hotel (888 Howard Street), Telegraph Hill Room

Note: this workshop has already taken place. See the workshop program for downloadable files of many of the presentations.

This one-day workshop provided an opportunity for experienced and new heads and chairs of Earth and Space Science departments to discuss successful strategies and challenges with others, learn about building a strong department, and meet other heads and chairs. Sessions included the topics listed below.

  • Making the Case for Your Department / Advocating for the Geosciences
  • Building Strong Departments
    • Beyond the Curriculum
    • Preparing Students for the Workforce
    • Curriculum and Program Design
  • Departmental Leadership: Setting Goals and Dealing with Challenges and Opportunities
  • Dealing with Budgets and Budget Cuts

All heads and chairs are invited to the workshop. As part of the business meeting during lunch, we elected new members of the Executive Committee of the Board of Heads & Chairs.

Board of the AGU Heads and Chairs of Earth and Space Science Departments
Larry Braile, Purdue University
Bill Dannevik, Saint Louis University
Lydia Fox, University of the Pacific
Susan McGeary, University of Delaware
Wayne Pennington, Michigan Technological University (Chair)
Stephanie Pfirman, Barnard College/Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory/Columbia University
Dallas Rhodes, Georgia Southern University
Sally Sutton, Colorado State University
Gary Solar, Buffalo State College

Workshop Support
Gene Bierly, American Geophysical Union
Heather Macdonald, College of William and Mary

National Science Foundation Logo The workshop website is supported by NSF under grant EAR-0614926 to the Science Education Resource Center at Carleton College. Opinions expressed are those of the authors and are not necessarily those of the National Science Foundation.

      Next Page »