Cutting Edge > Topics > Hazards > Hazards Webinar Series

Hazards Webinar Series

This series of webinars addressed some of the many issues surrounding hazards and teaching about hazards in the geosciences. These webinars also helped to generate materials for use in the subsequent face-to-face workshop on Teaching Environmental Geology held in Bozeman, MT in the summer of 2012. For more information about how the webinars were run and for each specific session, see below.

Schedule and Topics

Webinar sessions were held on Fridays beginning at 12:00 PM Pacific | 1:00 PM Mountain | 2:00 PM Central | 3:00 PM Eastern. The individual webinars were recorded, and a streaming video was posted following the session. Each event had its own registration, and participants could register for as many events as interested them.

November 18, 2011: Climate Change Risk in an Unknowable Future
Edmond Mathez, Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences, American Museum of Natural History, New York, NY

January 13, 2012:Natural Hazards Programs at the USGS – Policy and Mitigation – David Applegate, Associate Director for Natural Hazards, United States Geological Survey (USGS), Reston, VA

February 10, 2012: US Volcanic Hazards Peter Cervelli, Deputy-Scientist-In-Charge of the Yellowstone Volcano Observatory, United States Geological Survey (USGS), Menlo Park, CA

March 16, 2012:What's Shaking at SCEC? Education and Outreach Resources for Earthquake Preparedness – Mark Benthien, Education Director, Southern California Earthquake Center (SCEC), University of Southern California

Platform

These webinars were conducted using the Blackboard Collaborate software package (formerly Elluminate) for presentations, screen sharing and real-time chat between participants and presenters.

Audio was handled through a separate conference call telephone line. Instructions for connecting were provided to registered participants for each event.

We welcome participation by anyone on the discussion board for these topics, whether you attended a webinar or not.

Series Conveners

Katryn Wiese, City College of San Francisco
David Mogk, Montana State University
John McDaris, Science Education Resource Center - Carleton College

Contact

For questions or more information, please contact John McDaris (jmcdaris@carleton.edu).

      Next Page »