2019 Workshop for Heads and Chairs of Earth and Space Sciences Departments

Sunday, December 8, 2019, AGU Fall Meeting, San Francisco, CA
Location: TBD

Registration deadline: Friday, November 1, 2019

This one-day workshop provides an opportunity for heads and chairs of Earth and Space Science departments to discuss issues and strategies for building a strong department, meet other heads and chairs, and learn more about current issues. The workshop program includes sessions on the topics listed below.

  • Welcome by Pranoti Asher, Higher Education Manager, American Geophysical Union
  • Introduction by Julie Brigham-Grette, Department Head, Department of Geosciences, University of Massachusetts and Chair, Board of AGU Heads and Chairs
  • Morning session:
    • Eliminating Bullying in the Field by Erika Marin-Spiotta, University of Wisconsin and ADVANCEGeo colleagues
    • Improving Geoscience Graduate Student Preparedness by Sharon Mosher, University of Texas at Austin and Jeff Ryan, University of South Florida
    • Update from the American Geosciences Institute about Workforce Issues by Christopher Keane, AGI
  • Lunch, small group discussions, and business meeting
    • Small group discussions (based on participant interest)
    • As part of the business meeting during lunch, we will elect new members of the Executive Committee of the Board of Heads and Chairs
  • Afternoon session:
    • Principled, Preventive Academic Leadership: Survival Skills for Administrators by Tina Gunsalus, Director, National Center for Professional and Research Ethics, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
  • Best practices for holistic review of graduate applications in the physical sciences by Julie Posselt, University of Southern California
  • Updates from SERC and opportunities for the future by Cathy Manduca, Science Education Resource Center, Carleton College
  • Reception

Board of the AGU Heads and Chairs of Earth and Space Science Departments, 2018-2019
John Geissman, University of Texas at Dallas
John Gierke, Michigan Technological University
Julie Brigham-Grette, University of Massachusetts (Chair)
Gary Solar, Buffalo State College (Past Chair)
Katherine Straub, Susquehanna University

Workshop Support
Pranoti Asher, Higher Education Manager, AGU
Heather Macdonald, College of William and Mary
Mitchell Awalt, Science Education Resource Center (SERC) at Carleton College

Contributing Partners

SERC logo
Building Strong Geoscience Departments

NSF Logo The workshop website is supported by NSF under grant DUE-0817353 to the Science Education Resource Center at Carleton College. Opinions expressed are those of the authors and are not necessarily those of the National Science Foundation. The workshop is supported by the Building Strong Geoscience Departments project and AGU.

      Next Page »