2006 AGU Heads and Chairs Workshop

Sunday, December 10, 2006, AGU Fall Meeting, San Francisco

Application deadline is November 14, 2006

This one-day workshop will provide an opportunity for both new and experienced heads and chairs of Earth and Space Science departments to learn more about being an effective department leader, to discuss successful strategies with others, and to meet other heads and chairs. Sessions will be selected from the topics listed below. See the workshop program for more details.

  • Advice for new heads and chairs
  • Building community in the department
  • Strategies for recruiting Earth and space science majors
  • Recruitment, retention, and professional development of graduate students
  • Recruiting faculty and mentoring early career faculty
  • Departmental budget and planning strategies
  • Working with strategic partners on campus
  • Working with alumni and industry: newsletters, development boards, and more

All heads and chairs are invited to the entire workshop.The morning sessions are targeted for new and relatively new heads and chairs, although we also welcome more experienced heads and chairs. As part of the business meeting during lunch, we will elect four new members of the Executive Committee of the Board of Heads & Chairs. Please indicate on the application form whether you will come to the full day workshop or just to the lunch and afternoon sessions.

Workshop Leaders
Heather Macdonald, College of William and Mary
Gene Bierly, American Geophysical Union
Tim Bralower, Pennsylvania State University
Bill Dannevik, Saint Louis University
Diane Doser, University of Texas, El Paso
Jay Gregg, Oklahoma State University
Randy Richardson, University of Arizona
Don Wuebbles, University of Illinois

National Science Foundation Logo The 2006 AGU Heads and Chairs Workshop is supported by the National Science Foundation under Award 0105317 to the American Geophysical Union. The workshop website is supported by NSF under grant EAR-0614926 to the Science Education Resource Center at Carleton College. Opinions expressed are those of the authors and are not necessarily those of the Foundation.

      Next Page »