Events

Webinars

Participants will engage in four webinars preceding the workshop to explore the framework that we will use for discussion. This series of open internet salons will feature invited expert keynotes followed by robust discussion, with the purpose of creating a community of practice (CoP). At the conclusion of these webinars, participants will be acquainted with the motivation, context, and key concepts essential to re-imagine what the future of STEM education.

The first three webinars will consider the trends and forces influencing Foundational, Meta, and Humanistic Knowledge, the barriers and opportunities associated with different approaches, as well as inflection points for consideration. The fourth webinar will bring our conversations together and define work to be completed prior to the October workshop.

Humanistic Knowledge

September 15, 2020
2:00 - 3:15 pm Eastern/11:00 am - 12:15 pm Pacific
Confirmed Discussants: Katina Michael, Professor at Arizona State University and Founding Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Transactions on Technology and Society & Richard Pitt, Associate Professor at the University of California San Diego

Meta Knowledge

September 17, 2020
2:00 - 3:15 pm Eastern/11:00 am - 12:15 pm Pacific
Confirmed Discussants: Candace Thille, Director of Learning Science and Engineering at Amazon & Elke Weber, Professor and Director of the Behavioral Science for Policy Lab at Princeton University

Foundational Knowledge

September 23, 2020
2:00 - 3:15 pm Eastern/11:00 am - 12:15 pm Pacific
Confirmed Discussants: Thomas Zurbuchen, Associate Administrator for the Science Mission Directorate at NASA & Susan Singer, Vice President for Academic Affairs, Provost, and Professor at Rollins College

Workshop Day 0

September 24, 2020
2:00 - 3:30 pm Eastern/11:00 am - 12:30 pm Pacific

Design Workshop

October 5-9, 2020
11:00 am - 4:00 pm Eastern/8:00 am - 1:00 pm Pacific

At the week-long workshop in October, teams will engage in a virtual design studio, translating the Foundational, Meta, and Humanistic knowledge framework into example degree, certificate, and other programs (e.g. a chemistry degree program that incorporates meta and humanistic knowledge alongside foundational knowledge; a certificate program in Anthropocene Sciences). Each team will produce a program description, learning outcomes, a capstone assessment, and an artifact that demonstrates the character of the program (e.g. a list of courses/requirements; a course syllabi that exemplifies the program philosophy; an activity that exemplifies or typifies the program). To deepen and enrich the design experience, teams will interact in small groups with other teams and the workshop participants as a whole. The workshop will conclude with a focus on implementation strategies and recommendations for the larger community.