SERC > SERC News > InTeGrate 2018 Spring Webinar Series Continues

InTeGrate 2018 Spring Webinar Series Continues

published Apr 11, 2018 1:00am

Free and open to the public, the InTeGrate 2018 Spring Webinar Series will incorporate InTeGrate pedagogies into teaching practices, provide resources available for adoption, and create a forum for participants to learn and share teaching strategies. The series continues Wednesday, April 18 with the webinar with the webinar Addressing Landslide Hazards in Introductory Undergraduate Courses. The registration deadline for this webinar is Monday, April 16.

Visualizations can be a powerful tool for both thinking and communicating. As with other tools, proficiency can be fostered through education and practice. But how? This webinar will share insights emerging from an interdisciplinary workshop held in conjunction with the Gordon Research Conference on Visualization in Science & Education. The workshop group compiled, shared, and organized ideas from research and practice on:

  • what cognitive and information resources do experts draw on when interpreting visualizations?
  • how can we help learners extract insights from scientific visualizations?
  • how can we help learners express their own ideas via visualizations?
  • how can we assess learners' progress towards visualization mastery?

The scope of the workshop encompassed both concept-driven visualizations (e.g. flowcharts, diagrams) and data-driven visualizations (e.g. data graphs and maps). Although the workshop drew from across the STEM disciplines, for this webinar the examples will be drawn from InTeGrate instructional materials for teaching about the Earth.

Goals

At the end of this webinar, participants will have:

  • Ideas for visualization learning goals that you might want to build towards in your teaching
  • Knowledge of a toolkit of instructional strategies for fostering visualization competency
  • Examples of classroom-ready activities that simultaneously foster both: (a) learning about the Earth and (b) improved facility with geoscientific visualizations.

Logistics

Time - 9:00 am PT | 10:00 am MT | 11:00 am CT | 12:00 pm ET
Duration
- 1 hour
Format
- Online web presentation via Zoom meeting software with questions and discussion. Go to the webinar technology page for information on using Zoom. Detailed instructions for joining the webinar will be emailed to registered participants one day prior to the webinar.
Preparation - There is no advance preparation required for this webinar.

Registration deadline: Wednesday, March 28

Please email Mitchell Awalt (mawalt@carleton.edu) if you have any questions about this event.