2010 Workshop for Heads and Chairs of Earth and Space Sciences Departments

Sunday, December 12, 2010, AGU Fall Meeting, San Francisco
San Francisco Marriott Marquis (55 Fourth Street), Salon 14

Note: this workshop has already taken place.

This one-day workshop provided an opportunity for heads and chairs of Earth and Space Science departments to discuss issues and strategies for building a strong department, meet other heads and chairs, and learn more about the science of disaster mitigation and opportunities for students and faculty. The workshop program included sessions on the topics listed below.

  • Higher Education: The Great Recession and the Future of Academic Geoscience
  • Are You Making It Better? Measuring Program Success and Student Learning
  • Fundraising in Hard Times
  • The Science of Disaster Mitigation: Research, Careers for Graduating Students and Post-Docs, and Opportunities for Faculty

All heads and chairs were invited to the workshop. As part of the business meeting during lunch, we elected new members of the Executive Committee of the Board of Heads & Chairs.

Board of the AGU Heads and Chairs of Earth and Space Science Departments
Bill Dannevik, Saint Louis University
Lydia Fox, University of the Pacific (Chair-elect)
John Geissman, University of New Mexico
Venkat Lakshmi, University of South Carolina
Susan McGeary, University of Delaware
Wayne Pennington, Michigan Technological University (Chair)
Stephanie Pfirman, Barnard College/Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory/Columbia University
Sally Sutton, Colorado State University
Gary Solar, Buffalo State College
Katryn Wiese, City College of San Francisco

Workshop Support
Pranoti Asher, AGU, Manager of Education and Public Outreach
Heather Macdonald, College of William and Mary
Carol Ormand, SERC @ Carleton College

National Science Foundation Logo The workshop website is supported by NSF under grant EAR-0614926 to the Science Education Resource Center at Carleton College. Opinions expressed are those of the authors and are not necessarily those of the National Science Foundation.

      Next Page »