2008 Workshop for Heads and Chairs of Earth and Space Sciences Departments

Sunday, December 14, 2008, AGU Fall Meeting, San Francisco

The application deadline for this workshop was November 21, 2008. (This workshop has already taken place.)

This one-day workshop will provide an opportunity for both new and experienced heads and chairs of Earth and Space Science departments to discuss successful strategies and and challenges with others, learn more about being an effective department leader, and meet other heads and chairs. Sessions will be selected from the topics listed below. Tim Killeen, Assistant Director for the Geosciences, National Science Foundation, will also speak at the workshop. The workshop program gives the workshop schedule.

  • Department Alumni Boards
  • Dual-career couples: strategies, challenges, opportunities
  • Garnering resources and managing budgets
  • Personnel management and dealing with difficult people
  • Promoting your department/program (within your institution)
  • Survival strategies for new heads and chairs
  • Undergraduate research programs
  • Accreditation
  • Departmental leadership: Setting goals and dealing with challenges and opportunities

All heads and chairs are invited to the workshop. As part of the business meeting during lunch, we will elect new members of the Executive Committee of the Board of Heads & Chairs.

Board of the AGU Heads and Chairs of Earth and Space Science Departments
Tim Bralower, Pennsylvania State University
Bill Dannevik, Saint Louis University
Bob Ellingson, Florida State University
Jay Gregg, Oklahoma State University
Lydia Fox, University of the Pacific
Susan McGeary, University of Delaware
Wayne Pennington, Michigan Technological University
Stephanie Pfirman, Barnard College/Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory/Columbia University
Gary Solar, Buffalo State College

Workshop Support

Gene Bierly, American Geophysical Union
Heather Macdonald, College of William and Mary

National Science Foundation Logo The workshop website is supported by NSF under grant EAR-0614926 to the Science Education Resource Center at Carleton College. Opinions expressed are those of the authors and are not necessarily those of the National Science Foundation.

      Next Page »