Initial Publication Date: July 19, 2017

Winter Break Science Scholars Workshop for Students

2006 Science Scholars Workshop web site
-- find application materials & program description here

Dani Kohen
Bereket Haileab
Liz Ciner
For the first time in December 2005, Carleton offered the new two-week winter break Science Scholars Workshop for students. The 2005 program was conceived and created by a small Transitions Group planning team that included Mary Savina, Deborah Gross, Dani Kohen, Sam Patterson, Sarah Deel, Bill Titus, and Tina Garret. Program assessment and evaluation was done by a team that included Jackie Lauer-Glebov and Dana Buddenbaum (Institutional Research), Liz Ciner (Carleton Associate Dean), Profs. Mary Savina, Trish Ferrett, Dani Kohen, Susan Singer, Mary Savina, and Anne-Barrie Hunter (University of Colorado, Boulder). Program recruitment and advertising was done by the Dean of the College Office, under the leadership of Associate Deans Liz Ciner and John Ramsay.

Mary Savina
Deborah Gross
Sarah Rechtzigel
This program aims to help students become part of the science community at Carleton, to build confidence in their problem-solving and inquiry skills, and to develop strong working relationships with science faculty. The 2005 program included half-day daily sessions in problem solving lead by Profs. Bereket Haileab (Geology) and Dani Kohen (Chemistry). For the other half of the day, students worked in pairs on an internship with a Carleton faculty member. The 2005 internship projects were led by Profs. Gretchen Hofmeister (Chemistry), Steve Kennedy (Math), Arjendu Pattanayak (Physics & Astronomy), Sarah Deel (Biology), and Mary Savina (Geology). In addition, a number of other activites were included: dinners at faculty homes, breakfasts with faculty, reesearch lunch talks by faculty, field trips, and sessions on study skills and navigating the politics of a diverse campus. The 2005 program served ten Carleton students, eight first-year students and two sophomores. Sarah Rechtzigel (Geology) is the Administrative Assistant for the program.

Sarah Deel
Bill Titus
Sam Patterson
Science Scholars Sara Lopez and Lisa Short ('09) are doing summer internships at Carleton's Science Education Resource Center (SERC), working with Profs. Mary Savina (Geology) and Trish Ferrett (CISMI). Part of their work involves creating a resource list for faculty and staff (articles, programs, etc.) on broadening access to science.

This program is funded by HHMI and will be offered again in the winters of 2006 and 2007. The December 2006 program will include a problem-solving teaching team with faculty Mary Savina (Geology), Dani Kohen, Deborah Gross, and Trish Ferrett (Chemistry), Susan Singer and Debby Walser-Kuntz (Biology), and Bill Titus (Physics & Astronomy). The internship faculty will be: Bob Dobrow (Math), Dani Kohen and Joe Chihade (Chemistry), Melissa Eblen-Zayas (Physics/Astronomy), and Cam Davidson (Geology).

Debby Walser-Kuntz
Arjendu Pattanayak
Gretchen Hofmeister
Susan Singer
Trish Ferrett

Cam Davidson
Melissa Eblen-Zayas
Bob Dobrow
Joe Chihade
John Ramsay