Initial Publication Date: January 24, 2007

The HHMI/CISMI Advisory Board

The 2005-06 Advisory Board.
Back row (left to right): Mark Gleason, Stephan Zweifel, Joe Chihade, Arjendu Pattanayak, Larry Wichlinski, John Ramsay, & Cam Davidson.
Front row (left to right): Susan Singer, Trish Ferrett, Laura Chihara, Mary Savina.
Absent: Jackie Lauer-Glebov, Christopher Tassava

This Advisory Board was established to oversee Carleton's HHMI grant programs and other collaborative efforts across the science and math departments (CISMI). If you have questions about the work of the Advisory Board, please contact Trish Ferrett or Fernán Jaramillo.

Current Board members are, for 2009-2010:
  • Fernán Jaramillo (Biology, Neuroscience). CISMI & HHMI Director
  • Arjendu Pattanayak (Physics/Astronomy). CISMI Co-Director 2008-2010
  • Joe Chihade (Chemistry/Biochemistry). CISMI Co-Director. CISMI Director 2010-2012
  • Trish Ferrett (Chemistry, ENTS). CISMI Co-Director
  • Deborah Gross (Chemistry, ENTS). FOCUS Cohort and LSAMP Program Director
  • Debby Walser-Kuntz (Biology). Science Fellows Cohort Faculty Mentor
  • Cam Davidson (Geology, ENTS). 2009 Summer Science Institute Director
  • Matt Rand (Biology Chair, Neuroscience)
  • Jeff Ondich (Computer Science)
  • Larry Wichlinski (Psychology, Neuroscience)
  • Laura Chihara (Math, QuIRK)
  • Melissa Eblen-Zayas (Physics/Astronomy)
  • Mark Gleason & Christopher Tassava (Corporate & Foundation Relations)
  • Jim Fergerson and Cherry Danielson (Institutional Research and Assessment)
  • Cathy Manduca (Director, Science Education Resource Center). HHMI Assessment Director
  • Nathan Grawe (Associate Dean of the College, QuIRK)

Past Board members are:
  • Susan Singer (Biology). CISMI Co-Director, 2005-06
  • Stephan Zweifel (Biology)
  • Mary Savina (Geology, ENTS)
  • David Liben-Nowell (Computer Science)