MARGINS Data in the Classroom > 2013 Webinar Series > Source to Sink

A Decade of Research Findings about Source to Sink Research

Lonnie Leithold, North Carolina State University

Schedule

Date: Monday, Mar 4

Time: This webinar will take place at 10:30 am PST | 11:30 am MST | 12:30 pm CST | 1:30 pm EST and will last for 90 minutes.

Format: Capacity is limited to 40 people, on a first come, first served basis. Registration has closed.

Platform:

  • We will use Adobe Connect for presentations, screen sharing, and instant chat.
  • Audio will be through a conference call line.
  • Web support will be through workspace web pages and a discussion board.

Topics

Presenter

Lonnie Leithold, North Carolina State University

My research and teaching interests focus on sediments, their role in Earth surface processes and the record that they preserve of the Earth's history. Current research explores the role that sedimentary particles play in carbon cycling, from their production in mountain belts to their ultimate burial on the continental margins. In collaboration with Neal Blair, I am looking at how the time that particles spend in surficial terrestrial and marine environments controls the character of the associated organic carbon. One of the most exciting aspects of this research is its interdisciplinary nature, spanning tectonics, geomorphology, soil science, sediment transport and biogeochemistry. I also have a strong interest in using sediments to reconstruct ancient environments. Past research has looked at the role of storms and river floods in Plio-Pleistocene shelf sedimentation in California, and the record of sea-level and climate change in fine-grained sediments along the margin of the Cretaceous Western Interior Seaway.

Screencast

loading the player
The Source to Sink Initiative (Quicktime MP4 Video 108MB Mar4 13) Download Presentation



« Previous Page      Next Page »