MARGINS Data in the Classroom > 2013 Webinar Series > Seismogenic Zone Experiment

A Decade of Research Findings about the Seismogenic Zone Experiment

J. Casey Moore, Earth and Planetary Sciences, University of California, Santa Cruz

Schedule

Date: Tuesday, Mar 5

Time: This webinar will take place at 12:00 pm PST | 1:00 pm MST | 2:00 pm CST | 3:00 pm EST and will last for 90 minutes.

Format: Capacity is limited to 40 people, on a first come, first served basis. Registration has closed.

Platform:

  • We will use Adobe Connect for presentations, screen sharing, and instant chat.
  • Audio will be through a conference call line.
  • Web support will be through workspace web pages and a discussion board.

Topics

Presenter

J. Casey Moore, Earth and Planetary Sciences, University of California, Santa Cruz

Dr. Moore's research concentrates on the structural and hydrogeologic evolution of convergent plate boundaries, and more generally, on fluid interactions in the diagenesis-metamorphism and structural evolution of sedimentary rocks. He analyzes the deformation of sedimentary basins and accretionary prisms from regional to handspecimen scales. He applies techniques used to study sedimentary diagenesis to structurally active environments, to define the pressure-temperature-time-porosity-permeability evolution of actively deforming sediments. He focuses on active modern marine environments sampled by drilling, imaged by seismic reflection, and analyzed with borehole logs. He also studies subduction complexes uplifted from seismogenic dephts and exposed on land.seismogenic depths. The group focuses on active modern marine environments (sampled by drilling and imaged by seismic reflection) and regions exposed on land with a straightforward tectonic setting. They combine observational and laboratory studies.

Screencast

loading the player
The Seismogenic Zone Experiment (Quicktime MP4 Video 108.3MB Mar12 13) Download Presentation

References from Presentation





« Previous Page      Next Page »