SERC > SERC News > NAGT Announces 2015 Award Winners

NAGT Announces 2015 Award Winners

published Oct 22, 2015 12:00am

The National Association of Geoscience Teachers is pleased to announce the winners of our 2015 Neil Miner, James Shea, and Robert Christman awards. These awards will be presented at the NAGT and GSA Geoscience Education Division Awards luncheon at the Geological Society of America annual meeting in Baltimore, MD November 1-4.

Dr. Robert Butler has been awarded the 2015 Neil Miner Award in honor of his exceptional contributions to the stimulation of interest in the Earth sciences. Dr. Butler is a professor of science at the University of Portland, OR. Before joining the faculty at the University of Portland, Dr. Butler had an amazing 30-year career at the University of Arizona, where he attained the title of University Distinguished Professor. He was also made a Fellow of the American Geophysical Union in recognition of his research publications and a popular textbook on paleomagnetism. In association with EarthScope and IRIS, he has developed videos, online programs, teachable moments, and field trips that have brought geoscience to the attention of millions. Bob's career exemplifies how a scholar can break out of the lab and have an immense impact on building understanding in Earth science worldwide. For more information, visit the Neil Miner 2015 award page.

Nick Zentner has been awarded the 2015 James Shea Award in honor of his exceptional contributions in the form of writing and/or editing of Earth science information that is of interest to the general public and/or teachers of Earth science. Nick's greatest gift is communicating in an accessible and engaging way that allows people to see the landscape they've known all their lives with the eyes of a geologist. A Central Washington University geologist, Nick shares his talents beyond his classroom walls through his 2-Minute Geology and longer Ice Age Floods YouTube videos. In partnership with a videographer who takes his camera to the air over the channeled scablands and coulees, Nick has created a final product that is visually stunning, informative, and entertaining. For more information, visit the James Shea 2015 award page.

Andrew Buddington has been awarded the 2015 Robert Christman Distinguished Service Award in honor of his commitment and service to NAGT. Andy is an Earth science instructor at Spokane Community College and a member of NAGT since 1998. Andy's commitment and energy for geoscience advocacy not only assisted in rejuvenating the Pacific Northwest Section, but also led to the development of the PNW section's successful annual conference. In addition, Andy has served as the Pacific Northwest Section President and Vice President, and has served on the NAGT Executive Committee as a Councilor-at-Large and as a section Liaison. For more information, visit the Robert Christman 2015 award page.