Starting Point: Teaching and Learning Economics > Starting Point: Economics in Two-Year Colleges > San Francisco Fed Workshop, September 20-21 2013

San Francisco Fed Workshop, September 20-21 2013

Overview

This workshop will bring together community college economists on Friday afternoon and Saturday morning, September 20 and 21, 2013 to create teaching examples based on presentations at the Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco that will take place earlier on Friday, September 20, 2013. Coordinated by Mark Maier, Glendale Community College. Workshop staff Eddy Chi Moreno Valley College and Amber Casolari Riverside City College.

Location: 101 Market Street, San Francisco, CA

Participants

Shawn Abbott College of the Siskiyous abbott@siskiyous.edu
Amy Stapp
Cuesta College amystapp2003@yahoo.com
Collette E. Barr Santa Barbara City College barr@sbcc.edu
William J. Bettencourt Edmonds Community College wbettenc@edcc.edu
Paul Briggs Windward Community College Pbriggs@hawaii.edu
Thomas M. Carroll Central Oregon Community College tcarroll@cocc.edu
Rhonda Collier Portland Community College rhonda.collier1@pcc.edu
Patrick Cunningham Arizona Western College patrick.cunningham@azwestern.edu
Erik Dean Portland Community College erik.dean1@pcc.edu
Diane de Freitas Fresno City College diane.defreitas@fresnocitycollege.edu
James Dulgeroff San Bernardino Valley College jdulgero@valleycollege.edu
Jim Delaune
Pima Community College
jdelaune@pima.edu
Paul Hibbard Linn-Benton Community College paul.hibbard@linnbenton.edu
Michelle Kim Mission College michelle.kim@wvm.edu
Rob Larson Tacoma Community College rlarson@tacomacc.edu
James Peyton Highline Community College jpeyton@highline.edu
Samuel Sarri College of Southern Nevada samuel.Sarri@CSN.edu
Ted Scheinman Mt Hood Community College ted.scheinman@mhcc.edu
Elizabeth Zahrt Geib Bellevue College elizabeth.zahrtgeib@bellevuecollege.edu
Anthony Zambelli Cuyamaca College

anthony.zambelli@gcccd.edu

Workshop schedule

Friday, September 20

8:00 -9:00 AM Registration and breakfast

9:00 - 9:30 Welcome and overview: Jody Hoff, Sr. District Manager, Economic Education Group

9:30 - 10:30 Monetary Policy Tools: Gary Zimmerman, Sr. Economist; Yelena Takhtamanova, Sr. Economist

10:30 Break

10:45 US Labor Markets in Perspective: Mary Daly, Associate Director of Research and Group Vice President

11:45 Luncheon

12:15 Roundtable discussion: John Williams, President and CEO, Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco

1:15 Break

1:30 - 2:30 Banking Supervision and Regulation: Wally Young, Director, Risk Monitoring and Analysis Group

2:30 Teaching Resources

3:00 - 5:00 Writing teaching examples for Starting Point: Teaching and Learning Economics (by invitation only)

Use this for developing your activities (Microsoft Word 53kB Oct29 12)

See examples from previous community college workshops

5:00 - 6:30 Reception 4th Floor Garden Courtyard

Saturday, September 21

8:30 Breakfast

9:00 - 12:00 Writing teaching examples for Starting Point: Teaching and Learning Economics

12:00 - 1:00 Lunch

Reimbursement for expenses

The Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco will provide the following for those selected to participate: round-trip airfare to and from San Francisco (or round trip mileage based on IRS standard mileage rate, if driving); hotel accommodation for two nights; breakfast and lunch on September 20 and 21; $100 travel stipend to cover other transportation costs and incidentals. Instructions for air travel and hotel reservations, both arranged by the Federal Reserve Bank, will be provided to the selected participants.

Stipend

The National Science Foundation project Economics at Community Colleges will provide $200 stipends paid upon completion of the teaching example described above. When the example is revised and approved by the project coordinators, complete and submit this invoice (Microsoft Word 22kB May8 13)

Following the workshop

When your activity is complete, please submit it using this Online Submission Form The form will automatically create a web page based on your example (see below for sample activity web pages.) In order to edit this web page, you will need to register at the Science Education Resource Center with this link. By using the same email address and password you will be able to see and edit your example.

Workshop Background

Support for this workshop comes from a National Science Foundation grant

The Starting Point web site is maintained by the Science Education Resource Center (SERC) at Carleton College (MN), a partner in our project. We will be using the SERC site to host the exercises you create (click here for an example). While in development, these pages will be private, accessible only to project participants. Upon the author's approval and review by the project staff, they will be made public at the Starting Point site. Authors will receive credit for this publication on the site (see the example linked above).

      Next Page »