Starting Point: Teaching and Learning Economics > Starting Point: Economics in Two-Year Colleges > Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago Workshop: Teaching monetary policy

Overview

This workshop will bring together community college economists to create teaching examples based presentations at the Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago, March 26, 2013. Coordinated by Brian Lynch Starting Point assistance: Mark Maier

Location: 230 S LaSalle St, Chicago, IL.

Participants

MaryBeth Ascher Northeast Wisconsin Technical College marybeth.ascher@nwtc.edu
Jeremy Baker Owens Community College jeremy_baker@owens.edu
Ribhi Daoud Sinclair Community Collage ribhi.daoud@sinclair.edu
Diana Fortier Waubonsee Community College fortierfamily@ameritech.net
Joe Halter Moraine Park Technical College jhalter@morainepark.edu
Brent D. Holt Ivy Tech Community College bholt@ivytech.edu
Lucy Malakar Lorain County Community College lmalakar@lorainccc.edu
Stefan C. Mullinax College of Lake County smullinax@clcillinois.edu
David Reed Western Technical College, La Crosse, WI reedd@westerntc.edu
Leticia Starkov Elgin Community College lstarkov@elgin.edu
Cory Wanek Waukesha County Technical College cwanek@wctc.edu
Laura Wind-Norton Nicolet College lwindnorton@nicoletcollege.edu

Workshop schedule

9 AM Welcome and introductions

9:30- 10:30 Presentation by Federal Reserve economists

10:30 - 10:45 Break

10:45 - 11:45 Continued presentation by Federal Reserve economists

11:45 - 12:00 Preparation for work on teaching example

Use this for developing your activities (Microsoft Word 49kB Mar18 13)

12:00 - 1:00 Working lunch (provided by the Federal Reserve)

1:00 - 2:15 Continue work on teaching example

2:15- 2:30 Break

2:30 - 3:45 Sharing of initial drafts of teaching examples

3:45- 4:00 Evaluation and next steps

3:30 - 4:00 Evaluations; Last minute Questions.


Next steps

When your activity is complete, please submit it using this Online Submission Form The form will automatically create a web page based on your example (see below for sample activity web pages.) In order to edit this web page, you will need to register at the Science Education Resource Center with this link. By using the same email address and password you will be able to see and edit your example.

Stipend

We are able to offer $200 stipends paid upon completion of the teaching example described above. When the teaching example is complete and approved by the project coordinators, complete and submit a W-9 form available here and this invoice (Microsoft Word 20kB Jan8 13)

Workshop Background

Support for this workshop comes from a National Science Foundation grant

The Starting Point web site is maintained by the Science Education Resource Center (SERC) at Carleton College (MN), a partner in our project. We will be using the SERC site to host the exercises you create (click here for an example). While in development, these pages will be private, accessible only to project participants. Upon the author's approval and review by the project staff, they will be made public at the Starting Point site. Authors will receive credit for this publication on the site (see the example linked above).

      Next Page »