Community College Organization in Texas

All public institutions of higher education in the state of Texas are governed by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (THEBC). The regional accrediting body for these institutions is the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS). The community colleges in Texas are organized either as independent community colleges or multi-campus community college districts. The independent colleges are governed by a chancellor and other executive officers. The multi-campus districts have a chancellor for the district, but each campus has its own set of executive officers including a president. Within a multi-campus district, each campus/college/site which represents a significant administrative structure is required to report individually to the THECB. A campus/college/site is defined as having significant administrative structure when it has its own president or provost, chief instructional officer, and other administrative officers. The Coordinating Board (CB) requires multiple-campus community college districts to submit separate reports for each college/campus in the taxing district.

Community College Enrollment in Texas – Fall 2009 (Fall 2010 data is still preliminary)

State: Texas
Number of institutions: 71
Enrollment: 669,811

Full-time enrollment 30.40%
Part-time enrollment 69.60%
Ratio of adult population: 2.70% (population = 24,782,302)