Initial Publication Date: January 2, 2019

WA NextGen STEM Teacher Prep Management Team and External Advisory Board


The NextGen Management Team created a link among the Working Groups to facilitate communication and cross-pollination of ideas. The Management Team consisted of the facilitators of each of the NextGen Working Groups (see links on the left of this page), the Science Director from the Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction, plus the Project Director. As part of our "collective impact" model (Kania and Kramer (2011)), the Management Team was the structure within which we created a common agenda, coordinated activities, provided backbone support and continuous communication across this ambitious state-wide project.

The External Advisory Board provided advice and perspective to the Management Team and any specific Working Groups relevant to Board members' expertise.

Download the NextGen Vision for teachers in 2030 (Acrobat (PDF) 71kB Feb7 19) for more information.

Process, Methodology and Decision Making

The NextGen Management Team met via online video conferencing every week to every month. Prior to each meeting, an agenda was sent to all members, and during each meeting notes were taken on google docs (and are available to all NextGen participants) and tasks assigned.

The Management Team also had annual to semi-annual retreats to determine large-scale strategies, goals, and plans for moving toward our goals. Each retreat has a specific agenda, and resulted in concrete outcomes and assigned tasks.

The NextGen project ran a national conference in June of 2021 on Wicked Problems in STEM Teacher Preparation Wicked Problems in STEM Teacher Preparation

The External Advisory Board met in-person or via zoom video-conferencing approximately once per year. Specific goals for each meeting were established prior to each meeting to optimize the benefits of the Advisory Board's collective expertise.

Management Team Members

  • Antilla, Julie (Seattle Pacific University)
  • Baldwin, Kathryn (Eastern Washington University)
  • Borda, Emily (Western Washington University)
  • Clark-Blickenstaff, Jacob (formerly with Washington State LASER, on Management Team for first two years)
  • Cohen, Jessica (Western Washington University)
  • Dechaine, Jennifer (Central Washington University)
  • Ebert, Ellen (Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction)
  • Egger, Anne (Central Washington University)
  • Estes, Jeff (formerly with WA-State LASER, retired)
  • Geary, Ed (Western Washington University)
  • Hadley, Maile (ZenoMath)
  • Hanley, Daniel (Western Washington University)
  • Holmlund, Tamara (Washington State University-Vancouver)
  • Hrdina, Vickei (Educational Service District 112)
  • Lesseig, Kristin (Washington State University-Vancouver)
  • Mcmahon, Ann (UW-Bothell)
  • Miller, Matt (Western Washington University)
  • Rios, Jose (University of Washington-Tacoma)
  • Ronca, Roxane (Western Washington University)
  • Vokos, Stamatis (Cal-Poly, formerly Seattle Pacific University)
  • Wright-Mockler, Ann (Pacific Northwest National Laboratory)

External Advisory Board Members

  • Butler Songer, Nancy (Drexel University)
  • Lewis, Mark (Chief Education Office, Oregon)
  • Philipp, Randy (San Diego State University)
  • Ramaley, Judith (past president Portland State University, professor emerita Portland State and Winona State)
  • Salzman, Noah (Boise State)
  • Sumner, Tammy (CU-Boulder)