Wetland Types

When last checked this resource was offline Our automated link checker has alerted the folks responsible for the part of our site where this problematic link is referenced. If you have further information about the link (e.g. a new location where the information can be found) please let us know.

You may be able to find previous versions at the Internet Archive.

This resource will help students to distinguish between wetland types. They will discover that coastal wetlands include salt marshes and tidal brackish marshes while inland wetlands consist of freshwater marshes, wet meadows, forested swamps, shrub swamps, bogs, fens, and vernal pools. A Guide to Wetland Wildlife in New England Regional Wetland "Celebrities" is included. This site is part of a guide that aims to help students get to know the complexities of wetlands, discover wildlife, enjoy the experience of being outdoors, and learn how necessary wetlands are to the health of our environment. Even though the site is about wetlands in New England for educators and their middle school students it suggests ways to study wetland characteristics, why wetlands are important, and how students and teachers can help protect a local wetland. An associated set of activities is also available.

This description of a site outside SERC has not been vetted by SERC staff and may be incomplete or incorrect. If you have information we can use to flesh out or correct this record let us know.

This resource originally cataloged at:


Subject: Geoscience:Hydrology, Biology
Grade Level: Middle (6-8)
Topics: Hydrosphere/Cryosphere, Biosphere