Starting Point: Teaching and Learning Economics > About this Project > Workshops > SoCal workshop to develop teaching examples based on webinar presentations

Overview

This workshop will bring together a community college economists to create teaching examples based on the Economics at Community Colleges webinars The Housing Crisis, The 2009 Financial Crisis, Anti-trust Laws, or Health Care Reform.

Riverside Community College, January 18, 2012. Coordinated by Amber Casolari. Starting Point assistance: Mark Maier

Participants






Rose-Marie Payan
Glendale Community College Umax95@yahoo.com
Joel Beutel
San Joaquin Delta College jbeutel@deltacollege.edu
Albert Pasaoa
Riverside City College apasaoa@gmail.com
Hushang Shahidi
College of the Desert hshahidi@collegeofthedesert.edu
Barbara
Mikalson

Rio Hondo College
BMikalson@riohondo.edu
James Dulgeroff
San Bernardino Valley College jdulgeroff@valleycollege.edu





Ken Woodward
Saddleback College kwoodward@saddleback.edu
Mike Javanmard
Rio Hondo College mjavanmard@riohondo.edu










Becca Arnold
San Diego Mesa College barnold@sdccd.edu

Workshop schedule

9:00-9:30 am Check-in/Coffee and Danishes

9:30-10:00 am Welcome and Information about the Project

10:00-12:00 pm Break-out session, part 1

Use this for developing your activities (Microsoft Word 53kB Oct29 12)

12:00-1:00 pm Lunch

1:00-2:00 pm Break-out session, part 2

Next steps

When your activity is complete, please submit it using this Online Submission Form The form will automatically create a web page based on your example (see below for sample activity web pages.) In order to edit this web page, you will need to register at the Science Education Resource Center with this link. By using the same email address and password you will be able to see and edit your example.

Stipend

We are able to offer $200 stipends paid upon completion of the exercises described above. When both exercises are complete and approved by the project coordinators, complete and submit a W-9 form available here and this invoice (Microsoft Word 20kB Jan17 13)

Workshop Background

Support for this workshop comes from a National Science Foundation grant

The Starting Point web site is maintained by the Science Education Resource Center (SERC) at Carleton College (MN), a partner in our project. We will be using the SERC site to host the exercises you create (click here for an example). While in development, these pages will be private, accessible only to project participants. Upon the author's approval and review by the project staff, they will be made public at the Starting Point site. Authors will receive credit for this publication on the site (see the example linked above).