Action Plans

Context: Prior to coming to the workshop, each institution summarized QR programming, leaning goals, and assessment on their campus. In addition, teams identified institutional barriers and assets that may help them move their action plan forward.

Action Plan: At the workshop, each team wrote an explicit plan for action that identifies goals for the next 1 and 3 years, strategies for achieving those goals, and actions for carrying out those strategies. Because these plans were designed to be internal documents for the participating teams, the action plans are only accessible by workshop participants. A public abstract of each action plan is presented below.

  • Augsburg College
    Contact: Amy Gort (gort@augsburg.edu)
    Context
    Action Plan
    Abstract: To create authentic assessments of students' quantitative reasoning abilities at both the foundations and applications skills levels. These assessments will be used to inform curricular decision-making with respect to QR at Augsburg College.
  • Beloit College
    Contact: Alexis Grosofsky (grosofsk@beloit.edu)
    Context
    Action Plan
    Abstract:
  • Carnegie Mellon University
    Contact:Dr. Carrie Doonan (cbd@andrew.cmu.edu)
    Context
    Action Plan
    Abstract:
  • Colby-Sawyer College
    Contact: Ben Steele (bsteele@colby-sawyer.edu)
    Context
    Action Plan
    Abstract:
  • Dakota Wesleyan University
    Contact: Michael Catalano (micatala@dwu.edu)
    Context
    Action Plan
    Abstract:
  • DePauw University
    Contact: Richard Martoglio (rmartoglio@depauw.edu)
    Context
    Action Plan
    Abstract:
  • Edison State College
    Contact: Don Ransford (dransford@edison.edu)
    Context
    Action Plan
    Abstract:
  • Edmonds Community College
    Contact: Rebecca Hartzler (rebecca.hartzler@edcc.edu)
    Context
    Action Plan
    Abstract:
  • Gustavus Adolphus College
    Contact: Dr. Mike Hvidsten (hvidsten@gustavus.edu)
    Context
    Action Plan
    Abstract:
  • Hampshire College
    Contact: Charlene D'Avanzo (cdavanzo@hampshire.edu)
    Context
    Action Plan
    Abstract:
  • Lehman College, The City University of New York (CUNY)
    Contact: Esther Wilder (Esther.Wilder@lehman.cuny.edu)
    Context
    Action Plan
    Abstract:
  • Lewis & Clark College
    Contact: Harry Schleef (schleef@lclark.edu)
    Context
    Action Plan
    Abstract: Quantitative reasoning is a common language of our student. We aim for a short term goal of finding a common ground for quantitative reasoning, and a long term goal of building a learning center for reading, writing, and quantitative reasoning.
  • Lynn University
    Contact: Laura McCallister (lmccallister@lynn.edu)
    Context
    Action Plan
    Abstract:
  • Middlebury College
    Contact: Jeanne Albert (jalbert@middlebury.edu)
    Context
    Action Plan
    Abstract: There is no Quantitative Reasoning requirement currently in place. With a re-accreditation coming up soon we aim to use this opportunity to push forward two strategies for increasing QR at Middlebury.
  • North Iowa Area Community College (NIACC)
    Contact: Kathy Rogotzke (rogotkat@niacc.edu)
    Context
    Action Plan
    Abstract:
  • Pomona College
    Contact: Cecilia Conrad (cac04747@pomona.edu)
    Context
    Action Plan
    Abstract:
  • The Ohio State University
    Contact: Judy Ridgway (ridgway.14@osu.edu)
    Context
    Action Plan
    Abstract: In order to provide students with more opportunities to increase their QR abilities, we have identified two areas where we can have a direct impact. First is the development of quantitative literacy options for students who struggle with the current courses that meet the Basic Skills requirement in the General Education Curriculum. We plan to investigate the current offerings to determine if greater QR opportunities are needed, and if needed, develop a new course focused on QR. Second is the review of the Biology Major Curriculum to determine whether the opportunities for applications of quantitative skills and reasoning are sufficiently widespread throughout the program. We plan to conduct an audit of the current curriculum, identify gaps, and develop new modules and courses to address those needs. On a broader level, we will begin a series of interdisciplinary dialogues about QR pedagogy across campus: disseminating our findings, facilitating workshops on QR strategies for teaching, and developing online resources to be shared throughout the university.
  • Transylvania University
    Contact: Bob Rosenberg (rrosenberg@transy.edu)
    Context
    Action Plan
    Abstract: We outline three points to establish a culture of QR/QL across the curriculum.
  • University of Redlands
    Contact: Steven Morics (steven_morics@redlands.edu)
    Context
    Action Plan
    Abstract:
  • University of Texas at San Antonio
    Contact: Nandini Kannan (nandini.kannan@utsa.edu)
    Context
    Action Plan
    Abstract:
  • University of Washington Bothell
    Contact: Cinnamon Hillyard (chillyard@uwb.edu)
    Context
    Action Plan
    Abstract: We recommend that UWB develop a systematic plan to increase student competence and comfort in applying quantitative concepts. This initiative should reach all undergraduate students and should be driven by two main goals: To create a campus culture that values quantitative reasoning and cultivates quantitative literacy as an essential competence of an educated citizen; and to graduate students who astutely employ quantitative reasoning to better understand important issues and to make better informed personal and organizational decisions.
  • Willamette University (Salem, OR)
    Contact: Dr. James Friedrich (jfriedri@willamette.edu)
    Context
    Action Plan
    Abstract:

« Previous Page