Welcome to NESTA!

Twitter Icon v2 Facebook icon

The National Earth Science Teachers Association (NESTA) facilitates and advances excellence in K-12 Earth and Space Science education, serving a diverse population of learners in formal and informal settings. Join/ Renew today!

News and Announcements

Costa Rica Trip image 1
Hide Caption
Picture of file for announcement on page[reuse info]
Reuse: This item is in the public domain and maybe reused freely without restriction.
Volcanoes & GeoSTEM-Perfect Together: International Professional Development Opportunity.
When: 7 days | July 6 - 12, 2019
Costa Rica sits astride a jagged series of volcanoes and mountains, part of the great Andes-Sierra Madre chain, which runs the length of the western littoral of the Americas. Join NESTA for this special discovery of a multitude of volcanic formations, ranging from major stratovolcanoes to hydrothermal vents and fumaroles. Explore the treasures of Costa Rica's geologically rich terrain, combined with its diverse tropical ecosystems, on this comprehensive journey.
Get motivated by watching this YouTube video **Graduate credits and/or CEUs available
Final Payment Deadline: April 2, 2019 *Discount for members Click here to sign up

Earth Science All Around
Hide Caption
Earth Science All Around GIFT Workshop Materials[creative commons]
Provenance: Carla McAuliffe, TERC/NESTA
Reuse: This item is offered under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/ You may reuse this item for non-commercial purposes as long as you provide attribution and offer any derivative works under a similar license.
Earth Science All Around: Using 360 Imagery to Support Placed-Based Instruction. This companion website to a GIFT workshop at AGU in December is your introduction to place-based instruction in the geosciences. Explore a specific geoscience-related topic—watersheds—through scientifically-based online modeling and through a hands-on experience with 360 cameras. Check out the website!

GLOBE Mosquito
Hide Caption
GLOBE Mosquito[creative commons]
Provenance: Carla McAuliffe, TERC/NESTA
Reuse: This item is offered under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/ You may reuse this item for non-commercial purposes as long as you provide attribution and offer any derivative works under a similar license.
Webinar: Citizen Scientists: Build a Trap
When: Wednesday, February 20, 2019, 11:00 AM Pacific | 12:00 PM Mountain | 1:00 PM Central | 2:00 PM Eastern
Discover how to use the GO Mosquito Habitat Mapper app and build your own mosquito trap so you can look for mosquitoes right outside your front door. Learn how to contribute to a new mosquito seasonality map project as a researcher in the field! Click here to register

NGSS Logo
Hide Caption
NGSS_logo[reuse info]
Provenance: Achieve
Reuse: If you wish to use this item outside this site in ways that exceed fair use (see http://fairuse.stanford.edu/) you must seek permission from its creator.
Webinar: Implementing NGSS in Earth Science
When: Thursday, March 14, 2019, 1:00 PM Pacific | 2:00 PM Mountain | 3:00 PM Central | 4:00 PM Eastern
Presentation: Thinking Scientifically in a Changing World.
Registration Deadline: March 12, 2019 Click here to register

Share-a-Thon Invite
Hide Caption
Share-a-Thon Invite[creative commons]
Provenance: Carla McAuliffe, TERC/NESTA
Reuse: This item is offered under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/ You may reuse this item for non-commercial purposes as long as you provide attribution and offer any derivative works under a similar license.
Present at a NESTA Share-a-Thon in St. Louis! Our NESTA Share-A-Thons at NSTA Conferences provide you with the opportunity to reach out to large audiences of K-12 science teachers. During the Share-a-Thon, teachers move around the room from table to table. You will have about 5 to 10 minutes with teachers. Your name can be included in the online program and if you need it, we can provide a letter recognizing your presentation. Complete this form to present at the NESTA Share-a-Thons at the NSTA National Conference in St. Louis April 11-14, 2019. If you would like to participate in more than one Share-a-Thon, you will need to complete the form again, selecting a different Share-a-Thon. Regsister for a Share-a-Thon.

AmazonSmile
Hide Caption
AmazonSmile logo[reuse info]
Provenance: Amazon
Reuse: If you wish to use this item outside this site in ways that exceed fair use (see http://fairuse.stanford.edu/) you must seek permission from its creator.
Shop at AmazonSmile and support NESTA at the same time! Designate NESTA as your charity of choice and 0.5% of eligible purchases will be donated by AmazonSmile. Find out how this works and get your questions answered here.

View all News and Announcements

Calendar


      Next Page »