Teach the Earth > Teach the Earth > Workshops

Site Guide: Workshops from SERC-hosted Projects


Go to /NAGTWorkshops/index.html
On the Cutting Edge - The On the Cutting Edge project runs a series of faculty professional development workshops every year. Topics range from preparation for an academic career to designing innovative courses to emerging themes such as teaching with visualizations and incorporating new discoveries from planetary exploration into geoscience classes. Check out the workshop schedule to get more information on this year's lineup of workshops as well as links to past workshops.

Go to /integrate/workshops/index.html
InTeGrate Workshops - These workshops are aimed at developing program and course level strategies and materials to address societal issues, geosciences, and sustainability. Resulting resources include a rich collection of teaching activities, course descriptions, and essays.



Go to /departments/workshops/index.html
Building Strong Geoscience Departments - The Building Strong Geoscience Departments project runs workshops focusing on department-level challenges and strategies. Past topics have included curriculum and program design, program assessment, and student recruitment. The workshop page lists upcoming and past workshops.

Go to /acm_face/index.html
Associated Colleges of the Midwest: Faculty Career Enhancement Project - Supported by grants from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, the ACM Faculty Career Enhancement (FaCE) Project has provided opportunities for faculty at ACM colleges since 2004. With renewed funding from the Mellon Foundation in 2008, Phase II of the FaCE Project supports a variety of new initiatives, building on lessons derived in the first years of activity.

Upcoming Workshops

Use the listing below to browse through all the current workshop announcements. These announcements will contain information about each workshop as well as links to the workshop website. You can also search through all the websites from past workshops.


Help
Refine the Results

Sponsoring Projects

Results 1 - 7 of 7 matches

Addressing Water Resources and Sustainability in Upper-level Undergraduate Courses
Oct 6 2016 Next Webinar Developing Students' Data Skills Monday, October 10th 9:00 am PT | 10:00 am MT | 11:00 am CT | 12:00 pm ET Thursday, October 6th 9:00 am PT | 10:00 am MT | 11:00 am CT | 12:00 pm ET Presenters: ...

Webinar: Introducing Teachers to the Next Generation Science Standards
Oct 13 2016 October 13, 2016 1:00 PM Pacific | 2:00 PM Mountain | 3:00 PM Central | 4:00 PM Eastern Registration Deadline: October 11, 2016 Webinar Description Implementing the NGSS in Earth and Space Sciences requires a ...

Supporting Geoscience Student Success Through Active Learning, Metacognition, and GRIT
Oct 14 2016 October 14, 2016 Lone Star College - University Park REGISTRATION DEADLINE: October 3, 2016 This workshop explores successful strategies for teaching geoscience to all students in the same classroom. Presentations ...

Empowering 2YC Geoscience Faculty to Improve Student Learning
Oct 14 2016 If you can't have the student with skills you want, then learn to engage the one you have. Friday, October 14, 2016 Wake Tech Community College, Raleigh, NC REGISTRATION DEADLINE: Friday, September 30, 2016 ...

Teaching Computation in the Sciences Using MATLAB
Oct 23-25 2016 October 23-25, 2016 Carleton College, Northfield, MN This workshop will bring together faculty from the sciences, including Chemistry, Geoscience, Physics, Biology, and allied fields, who teach computation and ...

2016 Workshop for Heads and Chairs of Earth and Space Sciences Departments
Dec 11 2016 Sunday, December 11, 2016, AGU Fall Meeting, San Francisco Location: TBD Workshop registration deadline: Friday, Nov. 4th. This one-day workshop provides an opportunity for heads and chairs of Earth and Space ...

Earth Educators' Rendezvous 2017
Jul 17-21 2017 July 17-21, 2017 | University of New Mexico, Albuquerque Save the date for the third annual Earth Educators' Rendezvous! The 2016 Rendezvous was a huge success (see it in pictures (Quicktime MP4 Video 145.2MB ...


RSS Feed